JomSocial vs. CB vs. Joomunity vs. Others

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
krazykat
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

JomSocial vs. CB vs. Joomunity vs. Others

Post by krazykat » Sun Dec 21, 2008 6:05 pm

I'd like to hear everyone's take on these social networking extensions for Joomla. Pros and cons.

:pop

joodriver
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: JomSocial vs. CB vs. Joomunity vs. Others

Post by joodriver » Sun Dec 21, 2008 7:47 pm

hello Krazykat

great to see your thread. I am happy to hear from you. As i am the bloody newby i have not the wise words and deep insights not the good experience that do seniors have. But i am willing to take part in this viral discussione
krazykat wrote:I'd like to hear everyone's take on these social networking extensions for Joomla. Pros and cons. :pop
I am glad that someone is undertaking the task of integrating very great features. I have looked at two promising Social Applications that is Jomsocial and Joomunity. Joomunity is free and offers excellent support for everything I need. Jomsocial costs below $100USD and is also an excellent choice I think.

But as a believer of the open source-ideas i would prefer Joomunity. The dev is triying to Build Communities: he says:
Joomunity helps you build dynamic and vibrant community sites on the worlds most successful content management system – Joomla. With lots of inspiration from popular networks like Facebook, MySpace, Netlog and Beboo, joomunity compiles a set of useful applications to enable effective collaboration amongst joomla site users.
http://www.joomunity.org/
http://forum.yooonity.org/
http://my.joomunity.org