Redirect to honeypot

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
biggatings
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Redirect to honeypot

Post by biggatings » Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:11 pm

Hi All,
I have recently been hit with a large number of attempts to the back end of my site. I have :
RS Firewall and JSecure installed. So every time someone makes a failed attempt I get an email. In the past day and a half, I have gotten well over 200 emails.

Is there a way that I can prevent this or at least limit this from happening? I have read that I cannot change the name or location of the admin folder because components rely on it and it will probably break my site. What I would love to do, is only accept for a few ip addresses and everything else gets redirected to a honeypot or something that will keep these bots off my site.

Any suggestions?

Z9iT
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Redirect to honeypot

Post by Z9iT » Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:14 pm

I am ignoring that you are using RS Firewall and JSecure.... and suggesting you with what i think should be more powerful than this.
1) Password protect your admin directory (with .htaccess files, if supported by your server)

2) Provide a leech protection to the above said. Make it even more conservative by allowing only one instance of successful login. if some1 will try to login the second instance, the acc should get disabled.

3) Set the session lifetime as low as possible.. I think 10 mins. is more than enough.

4) Add a permanent 301 redirect to your admin directory, and disable it whenever you wanna login to backend.