akeeba backup (basic) -- installation

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
andynic
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

akeeba backup (basic) -- installation

Post by andynic » Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:37 pm

I am following the instructions in Akeeba Backup Quick Start Guide by Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos.
When I complete this section (quoted from the above):

=======Start quote from the guide=======

Once you have downloaded the component package – its name being something like com_akeeba-3.1-core.zip

– login to your site’s administrative back-end. Once in there, click on the Extensions, Install/Uninstall menu item.

The Extensions installer menu item

In the next page, under the Upload Package File header, click on the Browse button and locate Akeeba Backup's

installation ZIP file. Then, click on the Upload File & Install button.

========End quote=======

I get the following message from Joomla:
Error! Could not find a Joomla! XML setup file in the package

Mac OS X 10.6
Apache 2.2.4
PHP 5.3.26
MySql 5.1.39
Joomla 1.5.26

Thanks for your help.
Andy

sitesrus
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: akeeba backup (basic) -- installation

Post by sitesrus » Tue Oct 14, 2014 2:19 pm

Did you download the correct version for your installation? And did you download the correct file in zip format to upload into your extension manager?

Sometimes if you download a package it'll say unzip first b/c it's bundled with more than just a component for example.

What's the file name of the extension you downloaded? And what's in the archive when you view it with WinZip or 7zip or something?