The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:32 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:19 am
Posts: 4
Hi,
could you please help me out?
I'm using Joomla 1.5.9, mWA V0.9 and I couldn't get ScribeFire to work. The automatically Account Assistant worked great. The API path is correct. But, after the assistant has finished the message: "Server answered incorrect". If I try in Python to connect to the Server:
Code:
import xmlrpclib
client=xmlrpclib.ServerProxy("http://example.com/xmlrpc/index.php")
client.metaWeblog.getPost("1","admin","password")

I receive a 802 Access Denied.
Do I have to change usersettings in Joomla for enabling xmlrpc access?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:28 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:14 pm
Posts: 17
You have to switch option in [Global Configuration] - [System] - [Enable Web Services] - it must be ON

_________________
http://osrodekliturgiczny.pl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:44 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:19 am
Posts: 4
Well that's the problem, it's on.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:08 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:14 pm
Posts: 17
- Have You chosen "MetaWeBlog API"?
- Login and password is correct?
- Has user publication right?

_________________
http://osrodekliturgiczny.pl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:35 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:19 am
Posts: 4
I have choosen MetaWeblog API.
User is admin, password is correct.

I can proof, that the MetaWeblog API is working, because if I call the function with wrong parameters it gets me the error wrong parameters. If a call a non-existing function it tells me function not exists.
So, I think MetaWeblog API is working correctly, but denies the access of every user. (I tried other Adminusers, too)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:30 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:14 pm
Posts: 17
If you use plugin RSD (Real Simple Discovery) check, if Preferred API is put on "MetaWeblog API"

_________________
http://osrodekliturgiczny.pl


Last edited by zygajunior on Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:31 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:19 am
Posts: 4
Yes I did so, I followed the Instructions in this thread exactly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:06 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 14
hey folks,

Does anyone know what the latest version of Metaweblog API is?
thanks a bunch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:16 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:07 pm
Posts: 5
We tried to get this working with Blogo, but international characters are being escaped as numbered entities when calling getRecentPosts even after fixing the code to call SET NAMES 'utf8'; before pulling the records from the DB. What else might we be missing?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:34 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:14 pm
Posts: 17
Look at: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/metawe ... m_id=14620

_________________
http://osrodekliturgiczny.pl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 3:11 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:07 pm
Posts: 5
zygajunior: Thanks a ton! This should get us sorted out.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:27 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 2
Hi,

Great plugin. I'm looking at trying to modify it to allow my users to post directly to my site, but I've got a permissions problem I need some help with.

I've installed IdoBlog ( http://idojoomla.com/ ) for my users, which automatically creates content categories with a title equaling the user's username. What I'd like to do is limit the categories available so that the only categories that display (and the logged in user can post to) are the ones with category title = username.

I've tried playing with the code a bit, but it seems to simply break the category display. Does anyone know what code I'd insert to make this happen?

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:00 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 60
Where is the admin panel for the plugin? I followed the installation instructions to the T.
It doesn't appear in Components.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:14 pm
Posts: 17
Plugin has not admin panel!

_________________
http://osrodekliturgiczny.pl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:22 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 7:46 pm
Posts: 136
Location: san francisco, ca usa
Looks like there is a [url=http://www.joomler.net/component/option,com_docman/task,cat_view/gid,48/Itemid,2/]new version 2.3.0[/url] at developer site, but it's not announced on Joomla repository yet


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:06 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:14 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks! Is it a stable version?

_________________
http://osrodekliturgiczny.pl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:34 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 7:46 pm
Posts: 136
Location: san francisco, ca usa
I'm not sure what 'stable' means here.....I use it with Scribefire and it seems to work ok. The only thing I can't figure out is how to do image uploading via API rather than FTP.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:27 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 14
Have any of you experienced your post being "corrupted" for a lack of better description either through Windows Live Writer (latest version), or w.bloggar, or .........?

I am running Joomla 1.5.9,
Have tried MovableType API, and MetaWeblog API
with the default blogging APIs that are installed with Joomla disabled.

What I have experienced is the following.

I can get my blog editor set up and communicating with Joomla just fine.
But, when I create an article with the blog editor, format any portion,
of that article, (like bold, or underline, etc.) then post the article,
the article would appear like the example below

Using the text "This line has BOLD text in it."

Created and viewed in the blog editor it looks like this
This line has BOLD text in it.
The word BOLD would show up as BOLD text.
In both, the editor window, and the preview window.

When posted through the blog tool/editor it would appear like the following
pstrongThis line has BOLD text in it./strongp Or something along those lines.

Can anyone provide me a solution to this?
Thanks a BUNCH for the assist!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:14 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:48 pm
Posts: 1
Hi, I'm experiencing the same problem.
I try to get to work a 3rd party editor like scribefire using J 1.5.10 and previously 1.5.9 and Metaweblog API.
When I upload the code (text + image) joomla does an Html cleanup by supressing "<" and ">"
The result is that you get a wrong html code as you noticed.
If you add this caracters manually (by editing in joomla) it works again.
Since J 1.5.8 there is an HTML filtering option.
Independent of the editor you have to check this in the general article options and put on blacklist frontend users.
The filtering option if activated, removes the entire line and not just the lesser than (<) and greater than (>) brackets.
I tested this on a previous joomla version 1.5.0 , the code is not trunkated result is perfect.
Does anyone have an idea about this issue ?
Thanks
Thierry (France)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 9:11 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:14 pm
Posts: 17
In article manager / Parameters / filtering options - choose [registered]

_________________
http://osrodekliturgiczny.pl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 9:27 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 14
I dont get it, is setting article manager / Parameters / filtering options - choose [registered] going to somehow fix the text show the proper formatting shows?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 11:32 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:21 am
Posts: 42
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
This "stripped xml parser" bug drove me crazy for a long time, since WLW worked fine and then stopped. For those of you experiencing the issue where the html tags are getting stripped out such as "<" and ">" so that the formatting is all mangled, it is a known bug between PHP versions less than 5.2.9 and libxml2 2.7.3. It was introduced when libxml2 upgraded around in mid 2008 to the 2.7.x series. This is why it can "appear" on your server when things were working fine if you are on shared server and they upgraded libxml at some point.

There was some "debate" about if it was the libxml or php bug, but I think in the end it was decided it was an issue of hack code in php that worked fine, up until the libxml team upgraded their package and broke the hack. This issue wasn't fixed in PHP until 5.2.9, which came out about 1.5 months ago.

The known fixes are to either downgrade version of libxml to 1 series, recompile php to use another library other than libxml, or to upgrade to libxml 2.7.3 or newer and php 5.2.9. Note these are server level upgrades, which will have to be done by your service if on shared server. You have to have both the libxml 2.7.3 and php 5.2.9 versions or it will still be broken since there appears to be some mutual problem code on both pieces of software on prior versions.

See:

http://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=45996
http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/writerbeta/thread/62ad697b-ed19-4b0b-ae6a-32bec06b142b/

My service just upgraded to php 5.2.9 and libxml 2.7.3 and the issue was resolved for both WLW and ScribeFire.

Wordpress users had some patches on their end to fix regardless of the php and libxml versions.
http://blog.hoofoo.net/2009/01/14/wordpress-patch-for-problamatic-libxml2-version/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 3:25 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 14
Thanks for this information. I have been trying on several forums, and for a good couple of weeks to get "some" kind of answer on this. My provider is telling me, that CPanel is prohibiting them from upgrading to PHP 5.2.9. Have you, or anyone heard of such a limitiation?

Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 3:39 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:21 am
Posts: 42
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
My C-Panel version is 11.24.4-STABLE. So I am not sure where the prohibition comes from. Although, I did have to ask my provider to update; however, I am sure they wouldn't have if there is some issue with C-Panel. You might ask around at the C-Panel site to see what the story is on that "cannot upgrade" comment.

Also, here is also a link at C-Panel discussing whole problem with libxml/php, mostly prior to 5.2.9 update and how to recompile without out libxml (probably your next best request if your provider will not update to 5.2.9).

http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=95949&highlight=libxml


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 3:47 am 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
Thanks to drinkbrainjuice for an updated version of MetaWeblog!

http://github.com/benjaminjackson/jooml ... ree/master

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 3:52 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 14
Thanks Sundog, Can I "PM" you (kind of a side note)?


Amy, do you know if this new version of metaWeblog will help address the stripping <> on HTML tags?

Thanks again folks. I really appreciate the resposnes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 7:02 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:21 am
Posts: 42
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Sure you can send a PM.

No, the new version of the MetaWeblog plugin will not solve the issue. There was no code added to work around the problem. The problem isn't with the MetaWeblog or MovableType plugins for Joomla (or Joomla or WLW for that matter) but the underlying XML parsing software on the server. Thus, it gets scrambled outside the Joomla framework and switching blogging software or updating the APIs will not fix it. The plugin coders would have to put code in to look and see if server has the problem version combination of PHP and LibXML, then write branch code to work around that issue (probably having to hack Joomla core files along the way). So it adds a bunch of code to deal with a problem that is really a PHP/LibXML problem..and in theory is now "solved" with the newer versions of the server software.

In frustration about 4 months ago (when PHP and LibXML folks were passing the buck on who needed to fix problem), I tried putting in some work around code using the method the WordPress folks came up with, but I gave up....it was way beyond my skills (which are very limited).

Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:20 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:16 pm
Posts: 4
Hi guys, sorry for the major bumpage but I've got a weird issue :P

The Plugin worked amazing using Word 2007 and my website but now I have tried to install it on another website doing the same steps (I think) with no luck Word just keeps kicking up the error "cannot connect".

The only thing I can notice is that it hasn't made the xmlrpc/index.php file/folder. I've tried redirecting it to the metaweblog folder in plugins but I'm not sure what else I can do. Anyone else got any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:55 am
Posts: 9
Location: Switzerland
Hi Maxi_Live ,

I try exactly what you did : i mean using metaweblog api with word 2007.

At the moment , I can send text only from word , but no images.

About your problem , did you activate the web services into joomla ??

about my problem , what did you do into word 2007 to have images uploads working ?

Thanks
G0rg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:42 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:55 am
Posts: 9
Location: Switzerland
up...

I've looked around that API files and changed the images path from 'media\[joomla user name]\' to 'images\stories' into metaweblog.php

Images seems to upload the right way into this folder but word 2007 still refuse it.

first method:
I tried saying into word 2007 --> blog account --> images dialog box : to use ' my blog provider'

result : images are uploaded , but ms word says : " Miscrosoft word cannot publish images for this post"

second method

I tried saying into word 2007 --> blog account --> images dialog box : to use ' my own server'
and set it up like this :
- Upload URL : ftp:[my_ftp_user]:[my_ftp_password]@my_web_site_url/images/stories
- Source URL: http://my_web_site_url/images/stories

result: images still uploaded rightly , but word says : " Cannot save 'xxxxxxx.jpg' file. The folder is read only."
and another dialog message: ' Miscrosoft word cannot publish images for this post'


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group