The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:11 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:06 am
Posts: 25
Location: Camas, WA
I just installed and tested 1.5.14 on my test site (using 1.5.10 to 1.5.14 zip) and all went well. After testing, I installed on my production (using the 1.5.11 to 1.5.14 zip) system and tinymce is not working. I have checked the global config, plugin settings and the files that were uploaded and all seems to be in order. Any suggestions?

BTW, the reason for using different upgrade packages was at a different base (for embarrassing reasons I do not want to mention) :-)

Todd

_________________
Cheers,
Todd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:10 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:10 pm
Posts: 855
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
I had many poroblems with editor after upgrade from 159 to 1513
I could only solve ALL problems, restoring my previous 159 version...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:19 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 10:28 am
Posts: 4
Same problem here...

I upgraded from 1.5.10 to 1.5.13 (and now 1.5.14) and since the first upgrade, the TinyMCE is not working properly.
More than half of the icons on the editor are not visible, and some of the functions are disabled. For example, when i try to make a pic go left of the text, whilst it goes there, after hitting apply or save, the change is reversed and changes are lost.

There are other minor problems with formatting the text too...

Any ideas how to fix this, and WHY a "security" upgrade messed it all? :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:41 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:10 am
Posts: 2
Location: Brooklyn, NY
I'm having the same problem with tinymce after upgrading from 1.5.10 to 1.5.14. I also noticed that global config shows tinymce version 2.0, not 3.0 (the latest?).

I saw that there's a patch to address some (other?) issues with the editor, but it's related to the 1.5.13 upgrade.
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=17058

My site is live and I don't have a local version to test the patch out. Can someone let me know if the patch would be useful in this situation?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:31 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:06 am
Posts: 25
Location: Camas, WA
Good spot to find this. However it did not help.

I also did not notice that only about half of the icons that I should have are on my "good" test site. The test site will allow me to use the editor and save an article, but my live site does not. I have switched to "no editor" and use straight HTML. This is an okay workaround, at this point, since I post everything.

BTW, I also tried re-installing and that did not help either. I thought maybe I screwed something up. Not so lucky.

_________________
Cheers,
Todd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 10:06 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 10:28 am
Posts: 4
mysuedonym wrote:
I'm having the same problem with tinymce after upgrading from 1.5.10 to 1.5.14. I also noticed that global config shows tinymce version 2.0, not 3.0 (the latest?).

I saw that there's a patch to address some (other?) issues with the editor, but it's related to the 1.5.13 upgrade.
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=17058

My site is live and I don't have a local version to test the patch out. Can someone let me know if the patch would be useful in this situation?

So, now what? Is there a way for us to install and overwrite the current version to the latest one, or in any other way fix the issue? :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:00 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:06 am
Posts: 25
Location: Camas, WA
Quote:
So, now what? Is there a way for us to install and overwrite the current version to the latest one, or in any other way fix the issue?

Try another editor (i.e. XStandard Lite 2.0), use HTML or do a restore to your previous version. you can also try to determine where the problem is and suggest/create a fix for the problem.

_________________
Cheers,
Todd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:45 pm
Posts: 7
I had same problem and i only restored tinymce pluing folder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:52 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:06 am
Posts: 25
Location: Camas, WA
That worked on my test site...after I remember to copy the two tinymce files in the editor directory.

_________________
Cheers,
Todd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:28 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Norfolk, UK
Just an observation: these were, amongst other things, security updates. The security vulnerabilities have been published for all to see (including hackers). Reverting to older Joomla! versions because of a WYSIWYG editor seems perhaps foolish? JCE Editor never stopped working and it's free.

Hils

_________________
Member of the OpenTranslators Team
http://opentranslators.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:36 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:07 pm
Posts: 11
This has been answered in this post, and a way to correct it and to all icons to appear is:

You may want to check here:

Extensions > Plugin Manager > Editor - TinyMCE 2.0 > Parameters > Plugin Parameters > Functionality: change to Extended from Simple or Advanced > Save :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:11 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 10:28 am
Posts: 4
elmagistral wrote:
This has been answered in this post, and a way to correct it and to all icons to appear is:

You may want to check here:

Extensions > Plugin Manager > Editor - TinyMCE 2.0 > Parameters > Plugin Parameters > Functionality: change to Extended from Simple or Advanced > Save :)

Wow NICE :)

Thanks for the tip!!!! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:43 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22844
Location: Chennai, India
One more setting may help you in terms of code in the content. Look at the discussion http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=431&t=426904.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:25 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 2:42 am
Posts: 9
I tried to change the functionality to extended did not work. looks to be the file not found.. and got error like:
Quote:
Probable reasons are:

* You sent a plain HTTP request to an SSL-enabled server port. Instead please use the HTTPS protocol to access this URL, like this: https://example.com:8443/
* You made a typo in the request, e.g., typed a comma instead of a colon. Please re-check the URL.


then I changed the params of tinymce[plugin table] theme=extended [from theme=advanced] but did not work.

does anyone have any idea?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:21 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:17 pm
Posts: 3
elmagistral wrote:
This has been answered in this post, and a way to correct it and to all icons to appear is:

You may want to check here:

Extensions > Plugin Manager > Editor - TinyMCE 2.0 > Parameters > Plugin Parameters > Functionality: change to Extended from Simple or Advanced > Save :)


Thank you so much for that...I was going nuts trying to solve this myself. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:25 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:34 pm
Posts: 8
Hmmm I have been having the same issues. No one can edit from the front end or back end and when you open the editor the cursor in center aligned for some weird reason and when you submit the article is just sits there. I do have the firefox web developer toolbar and get the following error when clicking the submit button:

Javascript error TinyMCE.activeEditor is undefined

I resolved this issue while we were still writing the website by reverting back to 1.5.12 but I really want to avoid that now that it is open. If needed the website is question is www.collegearc.com

I hope this information helps find a solution as it seems many people are seeing the same error!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:22 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 5:13 pm
Posts: 89
Hils wrote:
Just an observation: these were, amongst other things, security updates. The security vulnerabilities have been published for all to see (including hackers). Reverting to older Joomla! versions because of a WYSIWYG editor seems perhaps foolish? JCE Editor never stopped working and it's free.

Hils


Tried replacing with JCE. Still not working. ANy other suggestion?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 4:22 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:36 pm
Posts: 1
Thank you very very much...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinymce and 1.5.14
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 1:58 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 7:08 pm
Posts: 2
elmagistral wrote:
This has been answered in this post, and a way to correct it and to all icons to appear is:

You may want to check here:

Extensions > Plugin Manager > Editor - TinyMCE 2.0 > Parameters > Plugin Parameters > Functionality: change to Extended from Simple or Advanced > Save :)



Thank you soooooooo much!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group