problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Richardb13
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 3:46 pm

problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby Richardb13 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 8:17 pm

Is anybody having a problem with the insert image button (bottom of page - think it;s a plugin?) with the tinyMCE editior

The button is there and the flash window opens but we can not click on the button?? same problem on 2 websites now.

Same issue in ie chrome and ffox

Any ideas?

Thanks
Richard

redred
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:50 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby redred » Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:02 pm

Joomla! 1.5.11 - have the same problem!

Ricksvil
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 6:03 pm
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby Ricksvil » Thu Jul 16, 2009 5:09 pm

Any one found a solution to this. I am having the same problem (lastest version of the JCE and Joomla 1.5.12). I click on the "insert Image" icon and the Media Manager appears. I select the image and clikc the "insert" link at top right and ti does nothing. At the bottom it says page error.

It is the same for inserting anything using the icon at the bottom of the window.
Rick Sneed
Go Louisville Cardinals!

User avatar
konczal
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:35 pm
Location: New Jersey, US

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby konczal » Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:18 pm

I'm having the same problem in 1.5.12; upgraded to 1.5.14 and it still doesn't work. (It did in 1.5.10).

We are using a custom template. The Insert Image button does work if I switch to one of the templates included with Joomla! 1.5.x, and it also works in Administrator mode.

rrspman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:35 pm

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby rrspman » Wed Aug 05, 2009 6:20 pm

I have similiar problem with 1.5.11
All I can see is the nice red "X".

I can insert a "X" from main window but cannot access other folders.

Have tried turning on/off tiny. ....

:'( this is frustrating having golf tournanent coming up in 5 weeks & need to update site

nay help greatlyyyyyyyyyy appreciated

Crimson Guitars
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:16 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby Crimson Guitars » Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:23 am

I had the same problem tonight!! spent hours and then realised what was what through an unrelated forum post..

firstly in global configuration turn the enable flash uploader to 'no'

and then make sure the path to image folder says images/stories

it turns out I had changed he path to images folder to 'images' and this confuses the button somehow?? anyway, once I changed it back to images/stories I could upload pics no problem and the dastardly red crosses were all gone! .. and to think I spent the last half hour trying to find the image button pluggin to reinstall!!! :-[ Good luck!

artmajster
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:24 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby artmajster » Sun Aug 09, 2009 4:02 pm

any one can help us with this problem ??????????

User avatar
konczal
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:35 pm
Location: New Jersey, US

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby konczal » Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:15 pm

I tried Crimson Guitars's suggestion - but flash uploader was already 'no' and path to image folder already says images/stories on the site I'm having this problem.

f5leeba
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:54 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby f5leeba » Sun Nov 15, 2009 11:32 am

Same problem with the insert button on Joomla not working. Window pops up, able to upload images but can not insert image with the "insert button". Please help.. would be so thankful for the insert button to work.. it looks so convenient to push and just have an image pop in there.... hope to hear from someone out there. This thread is desperate, that's why im begging in behalf of anyone else that wishes they knew what to do about the insert button not working.

aprilfooly
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:39 pm

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby aprilfooly » Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:37 pm

Hi I have notice the same issue upgraded to 1.1.15 set flash uploader to no.
Can't figure this out - any help much appreciated

tstevenson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:04 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby tstevenson » Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:41 am

I'm so glad I found this topic!
This may sound odd but....I found that when I enable the superfish menu this problem occurs. If I disable it and just use the main menu, the insert button for images on the tinymce editor works fine....crazy!!! I posted this somewhere else in the forum before and got no response, I see no one has come to our rescue here either....ugh! I tried it on the 1.5 version and on the latest version, uninstalled, reinstalled...you name it, I've tried it....here is a copy from my earlier post.

Hello,
I don't know if anyone has had this problem before. I couldn't find anything in the forums about it.
I have version 1.5.15 and it works GREAT! But when I installed the superfish menu, (which works great as well), I could no longer upload images from the front end or the back end of the tinymce editor...wierd...
I have tried everything else I could find in the forums, enabling and disabling the flash uploader, turning on and off the ftp....I'm on an Apache server.
I love the superfish menu and would like to keep using it, is there anyone who can help me?
If I disable the superfish menu, I can upload images, when I enable it, the tinymce image uploader says this:
Path: p.MsoNormal mce_style=margin: 0in 0in 0pt; tab-stops: 703.95pt; » span » span » span

Thanks so much in advance to anyone who can help me.

User avatar
konczal
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:35 pm
Location: New Jersey, US

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby konczal » Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:05 pm

Hmmm, I'm having the insert image problem but I don't have superfish installed!

aprilfooly
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:39 pm

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby aprilfooly » Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:16 pm

I don't have superfish installed either

bgregorcy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 4:21 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby bgregorcy » Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:35 pm

same problem here but when I set Enable Flash Uploader to No it started to work

User avatar
konczal
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:35 pm
Location: New Jersey, US

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby konczal » Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:11 pm

Hmm... Enable Flash Uploader is already set to No in my site!

Are you all having the TinyMCE problems with Joomla! 1.0.x templates? For me, TinyMCE breaks in Editor Mode with Joomla! 1.0.x templates, but works in Administrator Mode or in Editor when using a Joomla! 1.5 template (for example, ja_purity).

tstevenson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:04 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby tstevenson » Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:02 pm

I have a feeling this problem is related (in my case, read earilier post from me) with any kind of drop down menu that contains css/java outside of the main menu....? I would recommend for posterity's sake that anyone having this problem, just for kicks, try disabling your menu and see if you can use the insert image button on your tinymce editor or even your other editors like JCE. Just try it and see...you won't lose any information when you do it. Please post your results.

I've tested it and when I disable the superfish menu, I can insert images in the tinymce editor, when I enable it, I can't.
I'm using Joomla version 1.5 at the moment and the milkyway template. This even occurred with a fresh install with nothing being modified...I'm not convinced at this point that it's template specific either....I'm wondering if there's some kind of conflict there that a quick tweak from the right Joomla savvy person can fix...?

Please someone with any answers please help us!

tstevenson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:04 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby tstevenson » Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:08 pm

I just tried to use the tinymce insert image from the back end with the superfish menu enabled and it worked! I seriously don't know what I did....but I'm a very happy camper, it wasn't working before, if I knew I would gladly share that information. If I find out I will definately post it.
Thanks to everyone! Hope you get yours working as well....

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17988
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby infograf768 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:46 pm

Looks like there could be a conflict of javascript with the js used by this menu in front-end (in back-end the menu js is not loaded).

I confirm some users have a problem in front-end whith legacy 1.0. templates.
It's rather easy to migrate a 1.0 template
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

tstevenson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:04 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby tstevenson » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:22 pm

Thank you so much for responding!
OK, is the rhuk milkyway a 1.0 template? And if so, can you recommend a couple that are not?
I have the 1.5 version of Joomla! installed at the moment. I've installed and re-installed so many times for one reason or another, learning each time I do, that at one point I did the upgrade to the current version 1.5.15 hoping the insert image on the front end would work. Everything else worked great except I still had the insert image problem in the front end...ugh... (using the milkyway template all the while). That's how I found the problem with the superfish menu and tinymce, I installed a clean 1.5 version and started editing one thing at a time and kept checking the insert image in the tinymce front end each time. Anyway thank you for helping us and have a great evening! I think Joomla! is awesome BTW and appreciate all the work you code writers do to keep it going.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17988
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby infograf768 » Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:54 am

Milkyway is a 1.5 template.
In your case it looks therefore that the superfish menu is the culprit.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

mhdz
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby mhdz » Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:54 pm

I've got the same problem with the superfish menu.

It seems to be a problem with mootools and jquery, so I used this quick and dirty solution:

modules/mod_superfishmenu/helper.php

Code: Select all

class modSuperfishMenuHelper extends modMainMenuHelper {

    function render(&$params, $callback) {
        if(JRequest::getCmd('task') == 'edit') return;        /* NEW - do nothing in edit mode */

        // Include the new menu class
        [...]


This will prevent the menu to load when in edit mode (you don't need it then anyway ;) )

Greetings

mhdz

tstevenson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:04 am

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby tstevenson » Sat Dec 19, 2009 7:12 am

Hello mhdz... thank you so very much, that works perfectly!!!
Have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

mhdz
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby mhdz » Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:02 pm

Thanks for reply :)

Maybe just hiding your module in template when in edit mode might be better. There's no need to "hack" superfish:

Code: Select all

    <?php if(JRequest::getCmd('task') != 'edit') { ?>
        <jdoc:include type="modules" name="menu" />
    <?php } ?>


Have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year...

mhdz

User avatar
aguspr
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby aguspr » Mon Dec 21, 2009 2:10 pm

Transfer images to the directory: images/stories/..., with your filezila, and to upload to editor do not use button on the bottom but use icon on the top (insert images), klik and give the url: images/stories/...jpg an set the others up and then klik insert. :laugh:

http://majlisdzikrullahpekojan.org

User avatar
konczal
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:35 pm
Location: New Jersey, US

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby konczal » Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:27 pm

Last suggestion did not work for me... The tab of the "insert images" popup window show code like:

{#advimage_dlg.general}
{#advimage_dlg.src}
{#advimage_dlg.alt}
{#advimage_dlg.title}

etc.

Insert and Cancel buttons are inoperable.

User avatar
aguspr
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby aguspr » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:26 pm

Do you remember what the last thing you made, maybe install/uninstall, change parameter,etc. just set back, if can not too, maybe you should use JCE,and dissable tinymce, only suggest. 8)

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17988
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby infograf768 » Thu Dec 24, 2009 12:23 pm

konczal wrote:Last suggestion did not work for me... The tab of the "insert images" popup window show code like:

{#advimage_dlg.general}
{#advimage_dlg.src}
{#advimage_dlg.alt}
{#advimage_dlg.title}

etc.

Insert and Cancel buttons are inoperable.

The code you get in the insert image pop-up shows that the tiny language files are not loaded.
Change the setting to use "en"
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
konczal
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:35 pm
Location: New Jersey, US

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby konczal » Thu Dec 24, 2009 2:43 pm

Thanks for the suggestion - but TinyMCE already had Language Code set to "en".

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17988
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby infograf768 » Thu Dec 24, 2009 5:28 pm

konczal wrote:Thanks for the suggestion - but TinyMCE already had Language Code set to "en".

Please include a screen capture.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

sailnbike
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:10 pm

Re: problem with insert image button with the tinyMCE editior???

Postby sailnbike » Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:25 pm

I just developed the same problem and it only occurs on one computer. It happened after I installed Chrome but I have not used editor for some time and cannot be sure that is only update to the computer as I regularly update Firefox. I tried on my old computer (XP), and it works fine. So I downloaded the same old version of Firefox to new computer- no solution. I uninstalled Chrome and still no solution. Tried with IE and no.


Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests