Page 4 of 4

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:55 pm
by ianmac
can you clarify what you mean?

Ian

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:37 pm
by bayness0
Yes - trying to run Joomla in an IDE - using Eclipse on Windows XP - Joomla 1.5rc3.

I have installed Joomla and Apanta.  Load in Joomla and get a whole pile of errors and warnings.

Biggest issue seems to be that JHTML does not exist.

:'(

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:37 pm
by ianmac
Do the files exist?  This seems really strange.  Are you using the latest nightly?  What steps are you trying to get it working?

Ian

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:27 pm
by tekcronic
I am just wanting to understand how this all works...forgive me if this is dumb questions but I think this is the place for new or beginning joomla developers.  I guess I just want to clarify a few things.
  • Will J!Code produce a customized version of Joomla that can be installed based on using the J!Build (making it easier
  • Will J!Code assist in making an extension for 1.5?
  • Can someone lay it out nice and simple for those still learning to use IDE's or new to them?
I am not use to using an IDE and I figure if I the faster I transition into this type of environment the faster I will become a better coder...this may or may not be true...we can always hope for the best.  Also I am interested in maybe using the same IDE to create templates...I figure that this will help encourage and assist "Templaters to be Coders" and "Coders to be Templaters."

I hope that was clear enough.

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:56 pm
by ianmac
  • tekcronic wrote: I am just wanting to understand how this all works...forgive me if this is dumb questions but I think this is the place for new or beginning joomla developers.  I guess I just want to clarify a few things.
    • Will J!Code produce a customized version of Joomla that can be installed based on using the J!Build (making it easier
    • Will J!Code assist in making an extension for 1.5?
    • Can someone lay it out nice and simple for those still learning to use IDE's or new to them?
I am not use to using an IDE and I figure if I the faster I transition into this type of environment the faster I will become a better coder...this may or may not be true...we can always hope for the best.  Also I am interested in maybe using the same IDE to create templates...I figure that this will help encourage and assist "Templaters to be Coders" and "Coders to be Templaters."

I hope that was clear enough.
[/quote]
1. No.
2. Yes.  J!Code has various wizards that help to build the shell for your Joomla! 1.5 extensions.
3. The long and short of what J!Code will do...
It is an IDE.  This means, as you probably know, that it is an integrated development environment.  It is based on Eclipse.  More information about that can be found at eclipse.org.  Eclipse was originally developed for programming in Java, but it is very extensible and is designed so that plugins can be added so that any language can be used.  An IDE will help you to manage the files that are in your project.  It will also help you to see what is in the file that you are currently working on - i.e. you will see in the main panel what you would normally see in your text editor, but there is a bar on the right that will list the functions that are in that file and classes that are in that file.  This can be used to navigate through your file, because you can just click on the class name and it will move the cursor to that class.

There is functionality to refactor, so that you can rename a class and it will automatically update other references to that class.

There is subversion integration, so that you can checkout, update, and commit files right from the same place you manage your project files.

It also has debugging support, so that you can see exactly what your script is doing.  i.e. you can have your script pause after each line of code is executed, and check on the values of variables during script execution.  This is a nice alternative to using echo and print_r to figure out what is going wrong.

There is planned (it may actually be working, I don't recall what the status was), autocomplete, so that when you start to write code that invokes a function, a list of possible pre-existing functions will pop up, and it will show you what parameters the function takes.  This acts in some respect as a API reference.

There is integrated PHP help, so you can put the cursor over the PHP function and press F1, and it will open up context sensitive help for that function.

There are extension wizards, which I already mentioned.  So the idea with this, is that you click File->New->Project, and you can select the type of project you want to create (Module, Plugin, Component), and select a name for your project, and it will create the basic files that you need for that extension, along with code that is standard for the particular extension, so that all you have to do then is add your code.

A good chunk of this functionality is provided by Eclipse itself.  Some of the functionality is provided by an Eclipse plugin called PHPEclipse, which was developed by a separate group of people, and the rest of the functionality is provided by the JEclipse project, which is a plugin that extends both Eclipse and PHPEclipse to provide the remaining functionality.  The folks who developed PHPEclipse are helping us to put together J!Eclipse.

So there are three main components:
Eclipse, which is the IDE.
PHPEclipse, which is a plugin for Eclipse that provides tools for developing in PHP
J!Eclipse, which is a plugin that provides tools for developing Joomla! extensions.

there are a few other extensions as well.

J!Code is an easy installable package that will include all of the above components in one package.
Hope this helps make things clearer.

Ian

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 5:23 pm
by tekcronic
I download and installed J!code start it up and click new project....
So there are three main components:
Eclipse, which is the IDE.
PHPEclipse, which is a plugin for Eclipse that provides tools for developing in PHP
J!Eclipse, which is a plugin that provides tools for developing Joomla! extensions.

there are a few other extensions as well.

J!Code is an easy installable package that will include all of the above components in one package.
Hope this helps make things clearer.
Since I am using J!Code I figure that I have the basics covered to at least get started, but I am not finding the wizards...see screen shots below.
There are extension wizards, which I already mentioned.  So the idea with this, is that you click File->New->Project, and you can select the type of project you want to create (Module, Plugin, Component), and select a name for your project, and it will create the basic files that you need for that extension, along with code that is standard for the particular extension, so that all you have to do then is add your code.

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 5:53 pm
by ianmac
The release with the wizards hasn't been released yet...  we are having trouble getting the packages uploaded, as the guy working on it has been having trouble with his connection.

The J!Code you find on Joomla!Code doesn't have the JEclipse plugin.

Ian

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:35 pm
by tekcronic
I am having trouble finding anything on jeclipse and was wondering if you could provide me a link to where I can download the files?

Thanks for your help ian.

In case you don't know, I will report my findings once I know where to look.

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:43 am
by tekcronic
Ok so after much looking around I have found the following information very helpful...

[quote="I added minor edits like links and color"]Eclipse plugin for developing Joomla! components/modules (JECLIPSE)

Student: Muhammad Fuad
Mentor: Laurens Vandeput

This is a project that actually creates new logic to the Joomla! IDE based upon another open source project: Eclipse. Source code of this milestone can be downloaded from official svn repository of Joomla Soc 2007 (http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/soc2007/scmsvn/). I also provide binary file of this project (http://www.kleq.web.ugm.ac.id/images/joomlaeclipse/org.joomla.eclipse.joomlaextension_1.0.0.jar).

To install JEclipse, first you need J!Code (http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/jcode/), Apache web server and Mysql server too. If you download the source code you must compile it first. This can be done by open it with Eclipse IDE (http://eclipse.org) not with J!Code set target platform to J!Code, build, and export it to plug-in. But if you download the binary you just have to copy “org.joomla.eclipse.joomlaextension_1.0.0.jar” to plug-in directory of J!Code.[/quote]

Also there is a pdf manual that can be used to get an idea for those who are just looking into setting this up:
http://www.kleq.web.ugm.ac.id/images/jo ... rguide.pdf

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 3:07 pm
by hotnuts21
ianmac wrote: The release with the wizards hasn't been released yet...  we are having trouble getting the packages uploaded, as the guy working on it has been having trouble with his connection.

The J!Code you find on Joomla!Code doesn't have the JEclipse plugin.

Ian
How long do you envisage until this is all packaged as one product? I am guessing that Jcode will eventually include both Jcode and Jeclipse?
I want to start using an IDE but dont want to keep chaing and updating, should I wait for a future release of Jcode or download both Jcode and Jeclipse (from where) is there any documentation on using both of these together yet?

Sorry for all the questions, but I want to get away from Dreamweaver as soon as possible.

Paul

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:50 pm
by MrRoyce
Well I followed the directions here as best as I could and I have achieved a decent amount of success in one day.  I was able to download and install and configure  the environment described in http://dev.joomla.org/component/option, ... nners:ide/

I was even able to copy my test J! application to the IDE and run and use the debugger!  :)

Of course, I've run into a glitch I can't figure out.  My test application uses Community Builder as the main page.  I can specify breakpoints in mod_cblogin.php and it seems to work fine.  However, I can't specify any breakpoints in the mod_comprofiler.php component - the debugger doesn't seem to recognize them. 

I assume it has something to do with the mod_cblogin.php being loaded in the initial call stack and that mod_comprofiler.php is not loaded with the initial stack.  When I click login, the URL does not have the XDEBUG parameters that I see when the application initially loads.

Any help with this is appreciated.  And to anyone else that is struggling with this, hang in there, if I can get as far as I did, anyone can!

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:47 pm
by MrRoyce
Success!  :)

Right after I posted this I tried temporarily hardcoding the XDebug parameter to the mod_cblogin.php login button.  The code in the module looks like:

Code: Select all

$loginPost = sefRelToAbs("index.php?XDEBUG_SESSION_START=ECLIPSE_DBGP&KEY=11948983372104&option=com_comprofiler&task=login");
and it worked!  I was able to step through the com.comprofiler.php code and also through the onBeforeLogin plug in that I wrote.

Hope this helps or inspires someone else! 

(this is a duplicate post from the joomlapolis  forum)

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:50 pm
by madsamurai
Sorry if I missed it, but has anyone written a how-to for OSX yet?  Hope you all don't forget us mac guys...  :)

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:58 pm
by AmyStephen
madsamurai wrote: Sorry if I missed it, but has anyone written a how-to for OSX yet?  Hope you all don't forget us mac guys...  :)
What do you mean "you all?" Aren't you one of us?  :P

I'm serious here - please consider contributing an OSx guide to the community. You could use the Windows or Linux one to help you get started - it will be very, very close, but sketch in the differences and offer it for the documentation group for the "Mac guys!"

I hope you consider doing so - community contributions amount to 100% of what we have.  Plus, which type of developer do you want us to attract more of?  ;)

Thanks for considering it,
Amy :)

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:35 pm
by madsamurai
AmyStephen wrote:
madsamurai wrote: Sorry if I missed it, but has anyone written a how-to for OSX yet?  Hope you all don't forget us mac guys...  :)
What do you mean "you all?" Aren't you one of us?  :P

I'm serious here - please consider contributing an OSx guide to the community. You could use the Windows or Linux one to help you get started - it will be very, very close, but sketch in the differences and offer it for the documentation group for the "Mac guys!"

I hope you consider doing so - community contributions amount to 100% of what we have.  Plus, which type of developer do you want us to attract more of?  ;)

Thanks for considering it,
Amy :)
Hi Amy,
Didn't mean to imply that I don't feel like part of the group, I'm just used to being the 'black sheep' in dev circles because I like my mac...

If I had the slightest clue, I'd be more than happy to contribute a how-to. I'm a self-taught hack, so far, and have never actually used a proper development environment (aside from dreamweaver, which I pretty much hate). I do everything in textmate right now. I want to start using a SVN setup, as my projects are getting  a lot bigger recently, and I'm starting to hire additional developers on occasion. An IDE like eclipse looks like it can only make things easier...

So in this case, I think I think writing a how-to is a bit over my head...  That aside, I'm working thru my first components and modules for J1.5, and look forward to sharing and contributing where I can. I'm really enjoying the new framework api, tho the MVC structure is a bit confusing for me still.  This will by my 7th joomla site, but the first where I've built my own components from scratch. Really loving 1.5 all around. Once I get this big site done, I'll be able to participate more. I do like to be involved with the softwares I depend on, both OS and commercial, and have a good lot of beta testing experience, so I hope to become much more active in the future.

-Chad

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:38 pm
by AmyStephen
No problem. Just so you understand, though, the person who did this was completely new to Joomla! and had never used Eclipse or an IDE before. Take care,

Amy :)

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:15 pm
by tethmosis
Greetings to all !

I've been playing with Eclipse and Joomla for a few days now and got to some very interesting things mainly in term of proper debugging !  (Follow my facinating story here !)

Now the only thing that remains is to have some integration between my PDT (PHP + Eclipse) installation and Joomla's API.

So from what i can read from this thread... Is it possible to install J!Eclipse on PDT ?... (I.E... Downloading the binary "org.joomla.eclipse.joomlaextension_1.0.0.jar" mentioned above and placing it in the plugin directory of Eclipse ?)

BTW: the link provided above by TEKCRONIC isn't working. (i.e. http://www.kleq.web.ugm.ac.id/images/jo ... _1.0.0.jar)

Thanks for any help !

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:14 pm
by Pentacle
Does anyone here see lots of errors and warnings in Joomla directory structure? These two are the only ones related to PHP. Others are about HTML. (You can see them all in the attachment.)

Syntax Error mezun/libraries/joomla/utilities/compat php50x.php line 100 1195304541015 2268
Syntax Error: expecting: Identifier mezun/libraries/joomla/utilities/compat php50x.php line 100 1195304541015 2267

I disabled HTML syntax validator but they are still here. And when I'm using PHP explorer, the ide sometimes automatically goes to the next file marked with the error icon.

I also tried to disable validation for project and suspend all validators but still no luck.

Thanks for any suggestion.
Ercan.

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:50 pm
by Pentacle
In case someone needs it,

In the problems window, on the upper right corner there's a button for configuring filters.

If you choose 'On any element in same project', only the errors on the current project are shown. Same thing applies for tasks.

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:46 am
by Rogue4ngel
Thanks for the heads-up Pentacle.  Always good to have a few tips like this to save someone trouble later on.  Problem solving is best used to help those so they don't have the same ones in the future!

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 4:23 am
by Toni Marie
tethmosis wrote: BTW: the link provided above by TEKCRONIC isn't working. (i.e. http://www.kleq.web.ugm.ac.id/images/jo ... _1.0.0.jar)
New filename now I guess.  Go to http://www.kleq.web.ugm.ac.id/images/jo ... ipse/  it then shows the binary and the source, download the binary. I am downloading it now, and I expect inside the tarball is the jar.

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 10:06 am
by tethmosis
tydust wrote:
tethmosis wrote: BTW: the link provided above by TEKCRONIC isn't working. (i.e. http://www.kleq.web.ugm.ac.id/images/jo ... _1.0.0.jar)
New filename now I guess.  Go to http://www.kleq.web.ugm.ac.id/images/jo ... ipse/  it then shows the binary and the source, download the binary. I am downloading it now, and I expect inside the tarball is the jar.
I just downloaded the binary... The archive seams to be broken !
An error message popsup when openning the archive and when uncompressed, some files are missing.

Can someone else confirm that ?

Also, is jeclipse ok to develop 1.0.13 stuff ?.... Or is it dedicated to 1.5 ?

Thanks !

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 4:19 pm
by Toni Marie
It worked for me, the binary I mean.  There were 3 or something binaries in it.

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:24 pm
by tethmosis
tydust wrote: It worked for me, the binary I mean.  There were 3 or something binaries in it.
Well from the PDF file, aren't you suppose to have the five following files ?

Feature :
  • org.joomla.eclipse.jeclipse.feature_1.0.0.jar
  • org.joomlatools.eclipse.wysiwygeditor.feature_1.0.0.jar
plug-in:
  • org.joomlatools.eclipse.mozillawysiwyg_1.0.0.jar
  • org.joomla.eclipse.wysiwygeditor_1.0.0.jar
  • org.joomla.eclipse.joomlaextension_1.0.0.jar
And you didn't get any error message while unzipping the archive ?
I got even more error messages while uncompressing the sources archive!

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:30 pm
by Toni Marie
Eh, probably.  I will look now hehehe... I used a download manager to get it though, to make sure my download wasn't corrupt.  The download stopped a LOT.

Yes I have 5.  They're open source so I can provide them for download in joomlacode.org, right?

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:35 pm
by tethmosis
tydust wrote: Eh, probably.  I will look now hehehe... I used a download manager to get it though, to make sure my download wasn't corrupt.  The download stopped a LOT.

Yes I have 5.  They're open source so I can provide them for download in joomlacode.org, right?
Well then they should be held somewhere else !

I'll ask my local Priest if he can request some special treatment from God so that i can get the files before the end of 2012.

Thanks !

Re: Building the Ship - IDE

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:45 pm
by Pentacle
ianmac wrote: ....
Then, I checkout the trunk into a folder in my webroot, so I might have something like:
/var/www/amazing
/var/www/amazing/components/com_amazing
/var/www/amazing/administrator/components/com_amazing
etc.  etc...

now all that is left is to get Joomla! there.  Well, to do that, I do:
cd /var/www
svn export http://joomlacode.org/svn/joomla/development/trunk /var/www/amazing --force

Then, I run my Joomla! installation, and I add the necessary entry to the components table.

Then, I'm ready to go.
...
I liked this setup a lot and decided to use something very similar. Thanks for sharing.

But I have a question. I export my component repository to a folder in my root. So this is the structure:

/joomladir
/joomladir/administrator/components/com_blahblah
/joomladir/components/com_blahblah

After I export Joomla! repository to /joomladir, the PHP explorer shows all the folders of Joomla and scan them for tasks etc. I don't want this and only want to see the versioned project folders. Is this possible?