Firefox caching disabled, why it happens?

Relax and enjoy The Lounge. For all Non-Joomla! topics or ones that don't fit anywhere else. Normal forum rules apply.
User avatar
rufuz
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Rome
Contact:

Firefox caching disabled, why it happens?

Postby rufuz » Fri May 09, 2008 2:36 am

I just installed my site on a vps...
Testing performances in xp I noticed the browser (firefox 2.x) was reloading each small image and the render of each page took about 10 secs. and navigation in backend was a pain

I checked cache settings in options, it was all right set. But FF was not caching.
Then I typed in adress bar:---> about:config

and I discovered cache was disabled!! :eek: I enabled it setting:

browser.cache.disk.enable default boolean true
browser.cache.disk_cache_ssl default boolean false
browser.cache.memory.enable default boolean true

default settings was altered, I don't know how!

now pages reload in less than 1 sec.

then I checked my laptop with Vista and FF 2.x
and guess what? same story!

I'am asking how it could happen, and if we have to tell to our user to check that setting!!! :'( :'(

Geoff
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3193
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:20 am
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Firefox caching disabled, why it happens?

Postby Geoff » Sun May 11, 2008 12:40 am

mod note: not Joomla! related, moved to the lounge

I can't replicate your errors on Xp or Vista.
Maybe file a bug report over at the Firefox bug tracker?
Backup, backup, backup!
The "Master" .htacess file by Nicholas http://snipt.net/nikosdion/the-master-htaccess

User avatar
rufuz
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Rome
Contact:

Re: Firefox caching disabled, why it happens?

Postby rufuz » Sun May 11, 2008 9:54 am

Actually my best guess is the install of web developer or firebug... indeed they installed on both my systems... googling a bit I could see other people having the same "automated" change..

thanks

bye

rickei
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:57 pm

Re: Firefox caching disabled, why it happens?

Postby rickei » Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:25 pm

rufuz

Awesome. Thank you very much for this tip.
I have web developer installed, so that may be the culprit.
I'm back to my normal backend speeds now!

User avatar
rufuz
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Rome
Contact:

Re: Firefox caching disabled, why it happens?

Postby rufuz » Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:20 pm

Ok, then it seems we have to be aware of this detail.
Anyway, I recently installed WD in FF3 and had no such problem...

bye

ricc.

caesartg
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 12:29 am

Re: Firefox caching disabled, why it happens?

Postby caesartg » Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:02 pm

Thank you thank you thank you thank you!!!

I've been pulling my hair out about this one for weeks now and it had been holding up areas of my site development. I considered whether it was Joomla, Mosets Tree (this is where the problem is most noticeable) or the host server and had an idea that the problem was only with Firefox. I replicated the problem on my home and office machines but noone else could and guess what, I have the very useful (but likely a culprit in this case) Web Developer extension on both machines. I'm on holiday just now and have been wasting it trying to fix this. I can sleep a bit sounder tonight.

Thanks for posting this!

Ben

User avatar
rufuz
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Rome
Contact:

Re: Firefox caching disabled, why it happens?

Postby rufuz » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:09 am

nice to see you solved, too!

happy joomla!

bye

ricc.


Return to “The Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests