The Joomla! Forum ™





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 2:36 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:07 am
Posts: 303
Location: Rome
I just installed my site on a vps...
Testing performances in xp I noticed the browser (firefox 2.x) was reloading each small image and the render of each page took about 10 secs. and navigation in backend was a pain

I checked cache settings in options, it was all right set. But FF was not caching.
Then I typed in adress bar:---> about:config

and I discovered cache was disabled!! :eek: I enabled it setting:

browser.cache.disk.enable default boolean true
browser.cache.disk_cache_ssl default boolean false
browser.cache.memory.enable default boolean true

default settings was altered, I don't know how!

now pages reload in less than 1 sec.

then I checked my laptop with Vista and FF 2.x
and guess what? same story!

I'am asking how it could happen, and if we have to tell to our user to check that setting!!! :'( :'(

_________________
http://www.unframe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 12:40 am 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:20 am
Posts: 3193
Location: 127.0.0.1
mod note: not Joomla! related, moved to the lounge

I can't replicate your errors on Xp or Vista.
Maybe file a bug report over at the Firefox bug tracker?

_________________
Backup, backup, backup!
The "Master" .htacess file by Nicholas http://snipt.net/nikosdion/the-master-htaccess


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 9:54 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:07 am
Posts: 303
Location: Rome
Actually my best guess is the install of web developer or firebug... indeed they installed on both my systems... googling a bit I could see other people having the same "automated" change..

thanks

bye

_________________
http://www.unframe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:25 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:57 pm
Posts: 4
rufuz

Awesome. Thank you very much for this tip.
I have web developer installed, so that may be the culprit.
I'm back to my normal backend speeds now!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:20 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:07 am
Posts: 303
Location: Rome
Ok, then it seems we have to be aware of this detail.
Anyway, I recently installed WD in FF3 and had no such problem...

bye

ricc.

_________________
http://www.unframe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:02 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 12:29 am
Posts: 2
Thank you thank you thank you thank you!!!

I've been pulling my hair out about this one for weeks now and it had been holding up areas of my site development. I considered whether it was Joomla, Mosets Tree (this is where the problem is most noticeable) or the host server and had an idea that the problem was only with Firefox. I replicated the problem on my home and office machines but noone else could and guess what, I have the very useful (but likely a culprit in this case) Web Developer extension on both machines. I'm on holiday just now and have been wasting it trying to fix this. I can sleep a bit sounder tonight.

Thanks for posting this!

Ben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:09 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:07 am
Posts: 303
Location: Rome
nice to see you solved, too!

happy joomla!

bye

ricc.

_________________
http://www.unframe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group