New: Joomla (1.5) vs. Drupal (6.x) for Newbies

Relax and enjoy The Lounge. For all Non-Joomla! topics or ones that don't fit anywhere else. Normal forum rules apply.
Beach_Sales
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Beach_Sales » Sun May 18, 2008 9:00 pm

There is an old board for Joomla vs Drupal [MOD note: see http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=4364 - MOD pe7er] but I have found it pretty useless since it is so old and is not useful for someone trying to evaluate the two today because the versions have changed so much.

So let's get a fresh start on this. I am a novice at both (just started using each about 7 weeks ago from scratch) and like both and get frustrated with both for different reasons.

Would love to see some great discussion, I'm sure I will learn a lot!

I started a blog about it but will post what I have so far here for convenience.

Joomla vs Drupal: Part 1 (Intro, Installation and Admin Interface)

The first thing you will find if you search the net for comparisons of CMS is that they are dated. Any review you read comparing two content management systems is only marginally useful if it is more than 6 months old.

When new version of these puppies roll out it’s like rolling out a revamped model of a car and if you are not careful you will be reading a review comparing a 2006 Honda Accord and a 2005 Toyota Camry when you are in the market for a 2008. So take any old comparison with a grain of salt, they are useful only to a point.

So I’ll break down, from our ‘noob’ experience, a rating (1-5) of the two and the “winner” across the issue that you are probably most interested in. Whether you are more hands on or using a vendor to assist you these rating should help you get a feel for how hard you (or you vendor) will really have to work.

Ease of installation - Winner: Tie