Contact form multiple subjects

Locked
holsum
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:30 pm

Contact form multiple subjects

Post by holsum » Sun Feb 26, 2006 8:50 am

I want to know if there are any modules that would allow me to set up predefined Subjects for our customers. 
I want to have 5 subjects in the drop down box and depending on the choice it would send the e-mail to a specific e-mail address.

An example would be if it was regarding an order that was placed on line it would go to [email protected]

or if it was about a sponsorship it would go to [email protected]

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I could create this externally and just use a wrapper in Joomla to display it, but whats the point?

Thanks,
-Holsum
Last edited by mcsmom on Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20651
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ Germany/ S'pore/Bogor/ North America
Contact:

Re: Contact form multiple subjects

Post by leolam » Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:10 am

you can make that if I understand you right. is this what you look for? please check and if yes i will write down how to do it

Leo
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -

holsum
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:30 pm

Re: Contact form multiple subjects

Post by holsum » Sun Feb 26, 2006 6:00 pm

Yes, something like that would be perfect.
-holsum

scubaguy
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:37 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: Contact form multiple subjects

Post by scubaguy » Sun Feb 26, 2006 6:42 pm

I just did this for a client yesterday.  All you have to do is change a bit of code starting at line 670 of /components/com_contact/contact.html.php  Basically you will be replacing the form textbox input element for the Subject with a dropdown select.  I've included the code around the change to make it easier to find.  Fill in your own values and labels for the select options.  Copy and paste an "<option value=" line if you need more.

Code: Select all

					<label for="contact_email">
						<?php echo(_EMAIL_PROMPT);?>
					</label>
					<br />
					<input type="text" name="email" id="contact_email" size="30" class="inputbox" value="" />
					<br />
					<label for="contact_subject">
						<?php echo(_SUBJECT_PROMPT);?>
					</label>
					<br />
					
  <select name="subject" id="contact_subject" class="inputbox">
    <option value="Select a Subject" selected>Select a Subject</option>
    <option value="Product Information & Sales">Product Information &Sales</option>
    <option value="Customer Service">Customer Service</option>
    <option value="Order Status">Order Status</option>
    <option value="Wholesale Inquiry">Wholesale Inquiry</option>
    <option value="Wish List">Wish List</option>
    <option value="Website Question">Website Question</option>
    <option value="Other Question or Comment">Other Question or Comment</option>
  </select>
					<br /><br />
					<label for="contact_text">
						<?php echo(_MESSAGE_PROMPT);?>
					</label>
Web Geek Cafe - development and Joomla coaching webgeekcafe.org
YourTribe.com - group social events - yourtribe.com

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20651
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ Germany/ S'pore/Bogor/ North America
Contact:

Re: Contact form multiple subjects

Post by leolam » Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:15 am

scubaguy wrote: I just did this for a client yesterday.  All you have to do is change a bit of code starting at line 670 of /components/com_contact/contact.html.php  Basically you will be replacing the form textbox input element for the Subject with a dropdown select. 
scuba,
thanks for that one. I know that variable of course because that's how it should work. The reason why we did not implement it that way is simply to keep standard code without changes which of course did not happen in our form also becasue we created a redirect to a thank-you page: we described how to do that here

how we did it is basically "faking" the requested solution as requested here by uitilizing the options in the comp_contact:
in the params we set to start with drop-down = yes /created only one category and than at the contact detailes we dd:
Name : JooMaDesk
Contact's Position : General Inquiries on Services
Email: [email protected]

and than set the remaining params.
We than created a menu-link to the very first entry (the one you see here described > menu > contact link and that's it basically and that gives the drop down as described....

hope this as well as the redirect-link helps

Leo
Last edited by leolam on Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -


Locked

Return to “Tips & Tricks - Moving”