The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:23 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:18 am
Posts: 3
Hey, I have set up the news section for my site to "category blog layout" this was working fine until I added another news article.. now the top story displays correctly, but the one underneath is only displayed across one column, is there a way to stop this and have both articles displayed across two columns?

here is a link to my site for reference

http://www.waverleyterraceallotments.or ... &Itemid=56


thanks


Last edited by imanickam on Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Moved the topic from the forum Turkish to the forum General Question/New to Joomla! 2.5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:41 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22127
Location: Chennai, India
Reviewed the site and could see only 2 articles.

Open the menu item News for edit and in the Parameters (Advanced) check whether the parameter Multi Column Order is set to Down or Across.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:59 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:18 am
Posts: 3
Hey, it was set to down so I set it to across and I still get the same problem.
also there are only two news articles on the site


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:33 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22127
Location: Chennai, India
I reread your posts and I believe that you want the articles to be displayed to full width of the content space.

If that is the case, open the menu item Home for edit and alter the values in the following options that are available in the tab Layout Options.

# Leading Articles -> This refers to the number of articles that are to be shown to the full width
# Intro Articles -> This refers to the number of articles that are not to be shown to full width
# Columns -> This refers to the number of columns in which the articles will be shown that are identified as #Intro. If #Intro is zero this setting has no effect
# Links -> Number of articles that are to be shown as links. The number of articles should exceed #leading + #Intro

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:34 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:18 am
Posts: 3
Yeah this was the problem I only had one Leading Article.

thanks very much for the help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:28 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:26 pm
Posts: 5
Hi I have a similar problem, when i use the same category (blog category) it kicks the right modules of what ever page its on to the bottom and it also changes the text in the footer size, can someone please help me, its only happening with blog category so I'm thinking its an easy fix!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:41 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:31 pm
Posts: 2
Hi all, I got similar problem.

I solved looking accurately in the html of the singles articles in list,
and I found some div open in the top of html e closed in the bottom where inside there was <hr id="system-readmore" />.
like this:
Code:
<div>
<div>
<p><img src="images/foto.jpg" border="0" alt="" /></p>
<hr id="system-readmore" />
<p>foto/1980.jpg</p>
</div>
</div>


And obviously everything goes where it doesn't have to go!

So take a look there :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:31 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 6:32 pm
Posts: 3
It seems to be the case that in the new 1.7/2.5 layouts, the settings stored under the Menu Item take precedence over anything in the general Category/Article settings.

I have not tested exhaustively but I was tearing my hair out because my 4 featured articles were all supposed to be full width, but the 2,3,4th all went into 3 column mode!

The articles were set up to be full width, NO Readmore or anything. The Category Options were set to 4 Leading, no intros, 1 column, but when you looked at the page nos. 2 3 and 4 were in 3 column mode... AAAAAAAARGH!!!!!

Then reading this thread, among several hundred others, made me think :-
WHAT IF MENU ITEM SETTINGS TAKE PRECEDENCE?

Lo and behold, it appears that they do. Never mind what you put in the category, it seems to be the case that the Menu Item settings rule.

I would have expected the inheritance model to go GLOBAL, CATEGORY, MENU, ARTICLE with the most specific level applying in a similar way to CSS styling, but this does not appear to be true.

It would be very nice if there were a clarifying document explaining the 'inheritance rules' for J1.7/2.5 PLEASE... :D

Anyway, hope this helps anyone else having the same frustrations I was.

NickB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:00 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:26 pm
Posts: 3
I am getting a similar problem. No matter what I change my Category Blog setting too I cannot get it to display anything other than complete page width.

I would like it to display:

# Leading Articles 0
# Intro Articles 20
# Columns 3
# Links 30

I only have 4 items in this category at the moment but they are all showing at full page width. I have tried amending the details in the menu section, the global settings menu and in the individual artcile overrides but nothing works ?

I am running the Afterburner Theme with Joomla 2.5

Any help would be great.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:17 pm 
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Posts: 16335
Location: Akershus, Norway
Your template probably lack the css to style the articles into several columns.

A width must be set. For one column use 100%, 2 columns 48%, 3 columns 30% etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:30 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:26 pm
Posts: 3
Heya,

Thanks for your reply. Do you happen to know how I'd do that ? I've opened the CSS file for the style I've chosen but there's loads of width sections.

Also the Featured Articles page splits into two columns but I have set that to

# Leading Articles 0
# Intro Articles 100
# Columns 3
# Links 0

The page where single column is occuring is here -> http://host.quksdns13.net/~orcsinth/index.php/scenarios

And the featured articles page is here -> http://host.quksdns13.net/~orcsinth/ind ... background

I have also attached the CSS file from the template as well.

Another site I run (using Joomla 1.5) is running the template with columns just fine -> http://www.barkingirons.co.uk, all of the pages run two columns.

Is it a problem with 2.5 ? Also every now and again I get this error : You are not permitted to use that link to directly access that page (#7). Could that be causing any problems ? Are my changes not being written to a file somewhere ?

Thanks again,

Craig


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:44 pm 
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Posts: 16335
Location: Akershus, Norway
Add this to css:

Code:
.cols-3 div.item {
display: inline-block;
width: 30%;
 }


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:54 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:26 pm
Posts: 3
Huzzah !

I now have three columns ! Thank you !!!!

One thing I've noticed though is that they seem to bunch up towards the left side of the screen, is there any commands I can out in to get them to centre (middle column dead centre and other two equidistant on the sides ?

Link to page with 3 columns -> http://host.quksdns13.net/~orcsinth/index.php/scenarios

Thanks again !

Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:41 am 
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Posts: 16335
Location: Akershus, Norway
Use margin and padding to make more space between them.

http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_boxmodel.asp

Use Firebug to test different settings.

http://docs.joomla.org/Diagnostic_tools
http://docs.joomla.org/Using_Firebug_With_Your_Joomla_Website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 6:39 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:51 am
Posts: 3
Some great answears regarding the Blog View/Featured footer bug and how to do a work around. I think the best way to understand the problem is to look at the cause and take it from there.

The reason the footer goes "nutty" on an blog/featured layout is because you are pasting HTML into an article from the web or some other place. What you are doing is passing on a bunch of hidden HTML code that ultimately affects how Joomla! renders a page. It is not the Beez template, niether 2 or 5. Its the HTML that is being pasted into the article.

What I did to prove it for my self was the following:

Step 1. Make a new catagory
Step 2. Take all of your pasted articles and re-paste them into note pad or gedit or what you like (just make sure the text editor kills the html format).
Step 3. Put the new articles into the new catagory
Step 4. Now assign either a feature view or catagory blog

In my experiment this solved the issue so for now if you want a quick fix, its just taking more care not to copy and paste directly.

Good luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:12 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:59 am
Posts: 13
Location: Riverside, CA
d8ressa wrote:
Hi all, I got similar problem.

I solved looking accurately in the html of the singles articles in list,
and I found some div open in the top of html e closed in the bottom where inside there was <hr id="system-readmore" />.
like this:
Code:
<div>
<div>
<p><img src="images/foto.jpg" border="0" alt="" /></p>
<hr id="system-readmore" />
<p>foto/1980.jpg</p>
</div>
</div>


And obviously everything goes where it doesn't have to go!

So take a look there :)


Your observation solved my problem!

All "Read More" code must reside outside of any <div> </div> pair. If not, modules on the right side of the page will be shoved to the bottom of the page.

Very acute observation @d8ressa. Thanks. ;D

_________________
There are 10 kinds of people, those who understand binary, and those who do not.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:15 am
Posts: 24
Hi Wallace and Everybody,

Thanks for providing me the solution..I had the similar problem in the blog layout..I knew something kicked my right modules and moved it to the center and bottom..By looking at the conversation, I realised "read more" was troubling me..Thanks everyone..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:18 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:05 pm
Posts: 1
This thread was very helpful.
We were just trying to display in the blog format with Read More and the footer was pushed to the left and displayed in the side bar.
We found that if we enclosed the hr Read More tag with /div and div OR removed the div tags in the article everything worked.

This seems like strange behavior to me.

Thanks again for the hints.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:12 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 50
I've been struggling with this; the problem arises because joomla 2.5 uses <div> tags in the html of the blog pages, whereas 1.5 etc used tables. So migrating a 1.5 bunch of articles suddenly threw up all those sloppy html coded articles.
All very, well, but I still find that certain combinations of leading article configurations cause display errors in the migrated 2.5 that didn't appear in 1.5, particularly on 2nd pages; so if I set the menu to 2 leading articles it's fine, but 3 leading articles results in a missing <div> tag on the 2nd page that disrupts the template display, causing my right column to display within my middle column where the blog content is... below the blgo content


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:49 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:36 pm
Posts: 3
d8ressa wrote:
Hi all, I got similar problem.

I solved looking accurately in the html of the singles articles in list,
and I found some div open in the top of html e closed in the bottom where inside there was <hr id="system-readmore" />.
like this:
Code:
<div>
<div>
<p><img src="images/foto.jpg" border="0" alt="" /></p>
<hr id="system-readmore" />
<p>foto/1980.jpg</p>
</div>
</div>


And obviously everything goes where it doesn't have to go!

So take a look there :)

d8ressa, thank you, thank you, thank you! :D
This was driving me nuts.

I edited the following files and added a closing </div> to the end of each file (Joomla 2.5):
/components/com_content/views/category/tmpl/blog_item.php
/components/com_content/views/featured/tmpl/default_item.php

I'm surprised this issue even exists, it's such a fundamental problem. Surely it should have been picked up by now and fixed? Isn't everyone having the same problem?

very odd..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 5:08 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:36 pm
Posts: 3
Ignore my suggested solution above, it doesn't work. Well it works okay for everything except the last column.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:39 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:36 pm
Posts: 3
In the end I discovered I had an erroneous DIV in the content of my articles and this is what has been throwing my layout out, nothing wrong with the code.

Well, you live and learn. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:14 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 50
yeah, it's not enough just to close the <DIV> tags above the read more link, you have to deal with the closing </DIV> tags below the link, either by adding the necessary opening tags, or deleting the 'orphaned' closing ones [or, as CHir_m8 suggested, enclosing the read more link in it's own <DIV>], otherwise these will read into your display at a higher level and screw up the layout. It would be helpful if this issue was added to any article giving advice on migrating from 1.5 to 2.5...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cornelis79, ionut, mattbaylor, pasha06 and 83 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group