JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
User avatar
scottthepotter
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:06 am
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Contact:

JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby scottthepotter » Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:09 pm

I am having a problem whenever I turn 'file caching' on in 'Global Configuration'. Once caching is turned on whenever you navigate to a different menu item the original menu item is the one currently highlighted. So that whatever menu item you choose, the same menu item is always highlighted. When I turn 'caching' off, then all active highlighting works correctly. Am I missing something simple here? Also does anyone know why we lost 'database' as a caching option?
Joomla 1.5.9
PHP 5.2.6
MySQL 5.0.16
Scott B. Ackerman
Usable Web Solutions
http://www.us-able.com
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like, design is how it works" - Steve Jobs

dlebreux
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:20 am

Re: JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby dlebreux » Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:34 pm

Sorry, can't provide an answer but I can attest to have the exact same issue.

Turning cache off / on is the only setting that affects this. If you find anything please post.
If anyone else could chime in that'd be great.

swanseamosque
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:46 am

Re: JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby swanseamosque » Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:52 am

The best solution for me was to switch off the cache for that particular module.

User avatar
webrp
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 853
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:10 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby webrp » Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:26 pm

I am currently having same problem. I turned the CACHE to on, and the active menu item is not working anymore.

I have tested in different websites, all of them are Joommla 159. Also have tested in 3 different templates including JApurity and all have this problem.

PHP Version: 5.2.6
Web Server: Apache/2.2.11 (Unix) PHP/4.4.9 mod_ssl/2.2.11 OpenSSL/0.9.8c mod_fastcgi/2.4.6 DAV/2
Web Server to PHP interface: cgi-fcgi
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.9 Production/Stable [ Vatani ] 9-January-2009 23:00 GMT

dlebreux
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:20 am

Re: JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby dlebreux » Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:46 pm

It definitely appears to be some type of bug but we're not getting much input at this point. Hopefully some moderator will pick this up.
Or perhaps we should be reporting this elsewhere, sorry still very much a newbie at this and not sure what all the proper protocols are.

Anyways, turning cache off seems to be the only work around at this point.

:pop

User avatar
scottthepotter
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:06 am
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Contact:

Re: JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby scottthepotter » Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:56 pm

I would clarify that to turn caching off on that module. You don't have to turn caching off for the whole site, just the main menu module.
Scott B. Ackerman
Usable Web Solutions
http://www.us-able.com
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like, design is how it works" - Steve Jobs

User avatar
webrp
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 853
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:10 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby webrp » Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:14 pm

I confirm: disabling cache for that specific module solves the problem.

theblase
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:10 pm

Re: JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby theblase » Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:04 pm

webrp wrote:I confirm: disabling cache for that specific module solves the problem.


Hi,

I have the same problem with Joomla 1.5.10. How do I disable (or switch off) only the "mod_mainmenu" module's caching? Is it possible???

Waiting for your reply,

Balazs from Hungary
--
Regards,
TheBlase

User avatar
scottthepotter
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:06 am
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Contact:

Re: JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby scottthepotter » Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:19 pm

Go to 'Tools>Module Manager' and select the 'Main Menu' module. Under 'Parameters>Advanced Parameters' select 'Caching>No Caching'. That should solve the problem.
Scott B. Ackerman
Usable Web Solutions
http://www.us-able.com
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like, design is how it works" - Steve Jobs

theblase
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:10 pm

Re: JA_Purity, Joomla 1.5.9 caching problem

Postby theblase » Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:10 pm

scottthepotter wrote:Go to 'Tools>Module Manager' and select the 'Main Menu' module. Under 'Parameters>Advanced Parameters' select 'Caching>No Caching'. That should solve the problem.


Thanks!

What a good solution! I love Joomla! :-[ ;)
--
Regards,
TheBlase


Return to “Templates for Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests