Can this be done in Joomla?

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
brodene
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Can this be done in Joomla?

Post by brodene » Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:59 pm

On my web site I want to store information about articles written on different subjects.

There will be a drill-down, from higher to lower levels, to find the articles.

The first level will have all the subjects, for example:

"Technology"
"Sports"
"Banking"
"Business"

When you select one, e.g. "Business", that will bring up the next level, for example:

"E-Commerce"
"Starting One"
"Accounting"
"Franchises"

When you select one, e.g. "Franchises", that will bring up the next level, for example:

"Evaluating"
"What's Hot"
"Buying"
"Selling"

If this is the bottom level, then when you select one, e.g. "Selling", it lists articles by name on the subject, for example:

"How To Sell A Franchise"
"Franchise Your Business In 7 Steps"
"10 Tips To Franchising Your Business"
"Sell An Existing Franchise"

At this point, if you click on the article name, you will be taken to the web site/page that the article is found on.

(If it's possible to make a series of Windows-like drop-downs, so that if you hold the mouse over "Business" then the choices above automatically appear in another drop-down, I would also be interested in that.)

I may also need to store a picture/image of something related to that article.

All the information will have to be kept in a MYSQL database, which I will be designing.

There will also have to be a search mechanism, to be able to find the articles that way.

I want to know: