The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Please use the official Bug Tracker to report a bug: http://issues.joomla.org



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:13 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:03 am
Posts: 4
:( Joomla 1.6 menu ordering not working.....................


plz help................
i have given proper order for each and every menu items in the menu manager but in the front end view it is not displaying....... according to the specified order...

www.roshan.in


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:54 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:19 am
Posts: 10
Module ordering not working for me either.

_________________
BrandonShaw.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 8:27 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
Are you making sure to click on the save icon after you set up the ordering you want?

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:03 am
Posts: 4
yes after arranging i clicked on save button(small floppy pic) over the menu order


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:08 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
Do you have caching enabled? And have you also cleared your browser cache?

I'm going to as that this be moved to the 1.6 bug forum. It's not really a performance issue.

When you post again please post your complete environment information and also some screen shots of what you are doing step by step.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:16 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 19984
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
[MOD note: moved from Performance - Joomla! 1.6 to Joomla! 1.6.x Bug Reporting]

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:11 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:03 am
Posts: 4
Image
Image
Image
after saving the menu is displayed as follows
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 1:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
Ok so you have an ordering, are you saying that when you look at the front end the menu items are not displayed in that order?

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:46 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:40 pm
Posts: 10
I had a similar problem, but it relates to the menu headings, ie "About Joomla!", "This Site", etc on the installation database using beez_20. The ordering I did was in Module Manager: Module, where the ordering arrows (a) don't appear until you click the column heading, and (b) don't function properly.

The order integer is the same for several modules and the order you get in this case appears to be that of the order of records in the jos_modules table. You can fix the ordering in this table.

Hope this helps,

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 11:10 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
I'm confused because you are saying the problem is in menus but then you said your did stuff in the module manager? Or are you trying to change the order of those menu modules?
You definitely can't use the order arrows if you have not initially clicked on the heading to put things in order.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:08 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:03 am
Posts: 4
mcsmom wrote:
Ok so you have an ordering, are you saying that when you look at the front end the menu items are not displayed in that order?

yea, thtz the problem at front end its not desplaying as per the order


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:03 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
ok
http://www.screencast.com/users/ElinW/f ... eb0d9d2bdf

Shows how I was able to reorder. What happens when you do those exact steps 9well you can skip the part where i wasn't logged in :P)

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:47 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:40 pm
Posts: 10
Hi Mscmom,

The original post in this thread was about menu ordering, while mine (as you say) is about module ordering.

Your video shows exactly what I did. The difference seems to be that somewhere along the way in developing my database the integers in my ordering column have got corrupted and several of them are set to 1. Yours are in sequence as they should be. See attached screen shot.

The work I did was entirely using the admin panels as shown in your video.

Mike


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:21 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
And then if you change the numbers in the boxes and save, what happens?
What steps did you use to create new modules? Did you copy an existing one or use the New icon?

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:40 pm
Posts: 10
I changed one of the "1"s to a 2 and saved. The whole list re-ordered automatically to 1, 3, 4, 5, 6.
Note: no 0 or 2. The arrows then worked as they should and the modules were correctly displayed on the front end.

The modules were created using "new".


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:42 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 17
mcsmom wrote:
ok
http://www.screencast.com/users/ElinW/f ... eb0d9d2bdf

Shows how I was able to reorder. What happens when you do those exact steps 9well you can skip the part where i wasn't logged in :P)

That video is about modules, but i have the problems with menu items :eek:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:51 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
It works in exactly the same way and you need to answer all of the questions above.

update

Mike is the concern now that you are missing the two integers? What happens if you save again?

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 11:09 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 17
Pardon, what question? I change the order, click save order and delete cache, still same old order.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 11:27 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 17
With menu items manager you have no "position" link. I'm locked into the database but there are maybe 200 items in jos_menu ...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 12:52 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:40 pm
Posts: 10
Re my problem with the main menu module positions all getting set to 1. It could be that I edited the positions manually at some stage in didn't hit the floppy disk icon.

Would a safer implementation be to update the database whenever the ordering was changes without the need to click the save icon.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:33 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:18 am
Posts: 1869
is this what you mean : http://docs.joomla.org/Help16:Extension ... nager_Edit

_________________
coffee & smoke just fine

OOm Nezar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:07 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 17
Could someone elaborate which table cells needs to be updated to manually order the menu? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:51 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 17
I can order the menu items just fine, but on the frontend they do not change :/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:21 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
Mike,

I know it seems like a pain to have to hit save but think about it, do you want the front end of your site chnging while you are moving one item at a time and rearranging or do you want to finish the job and then have the front end change? It's not that different than having to save your article before it is in the database. Do you want your article editing to display to your users as you are typing? Or to you want to be able to finish, proof read, then save and let them see the changes?

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:48 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 17
The problem with MENU ITEM ORDERING was caused by this 3rd party extension
http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... I7fQ%3D%3D

Reported and resolved with installing another 3rd party menu extension.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 3:59 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:07 pm
Posts: 177
Location: Michigan, USA
mcsmom wrote:
ok
http://www.screencast.com/users/ElinW/f ... eb0d9d2bdf

Shows how I was able to reorder. What happens when you do those exact steps 9well you can skip the part where i wasn't logged in :P)


Hey, thanks for posting this! It works for ordering contacts too!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 7:15 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 1
I had a similar problem,but it working after i clear Menu Trash emty trash everything.
i can ordering my menu lol


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: worked for me::::)
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:40 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:10 am
Posts: 1
I found a way. Open phpmyadmin>j16menu
find mainmenu table
edit value of ordering to '0'
then try to change menu ordering in administrator backend.
:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: worked for me::::)
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:28 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:59 pm
Posts: 542
Location: Hong Kong
meerarajeev wrote:
I found a way. Open phpmyadmin>j16menu
find mainmenu table
edit value of ordering to '0'
then try to change menu ordering in administrator backend.
:)


This was the solution that worked! Good work, meerarajeev :)

Can anyone explain why this works? We had a heck of a time trying to order menu items on a site currently being developed - the blue up/down arrow buttons seemed to work, but as soon as you save the ordering would revert.

The number boxes never even worked at all.

This particular site was a migration from 1.5 -> 1.6/1.7, but I've observed the exact same menu ordering problem on a completely fresh 1.7 install.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:41 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 543
Location: Århus
Infograf is on the problem! It is a problem with the column "ordering" in table "_menu". When it is filled with different numbers it doesn't work - it should be just zero's as the ordering of the menu items are drawn from the columns "lgt" and "rgt". It seems that the ordering column actually is obsolete, but if you press "Rebuild" it is used

// If the table has an ordering field, use that for ordering.
if (property_exists($this, 'ordering')) {
$query->order('parent_id, ordering, lft');

infograf768: when the ordering column is filled with figures, then it usesit


Use this in phpMyAdmin to correct the issue: UPDATE `your db name`.`your table prefix_menu` SET `ordering` = '0'

_________________
rbuelund
Member of the Danish Joomla Translation Team
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/danish/
http://danskjoomla.dk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group