Subcategories Pagination

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
sright
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Subcategories Pagination

Post by sright » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:48 pm

Does Joomla lack the pagination of subcategories? This is an issue that I've been trying to solve..
(my question is not about articles ). I cant find a way in the back-end to add pagination to split a list of categories/subcategories into pages.

Loading a big list of subcategories is slow and takes alot from the server to handle it. So inorder to fix this issue it's important to have pagination :'(

I would be so pleased to have help in that... Thanks alot in advance..

sright
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Subcategories Pagination

Post by sright » Mon Apr 25, 2011 3:54 am

how can i add jpagination to categories? i couldnt get the code to work.. can anybody explain exactly how?

GPixels
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by GPixels » Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:50 am

There are a ton of settings with Joomla 1.6 now for categories, articles, etc., and it comes with a bit of a learning curve. But to have a pagination for "categories" like [1] [2] [3]...etc. I don't think it can do that like it can for articles and intro posts within a category.

The only other solution that I can suggest is perhaps restructure your categories and subcategories (if you have a lot), into more nested versions and then with parameters on the menu item(s) that link to categories, control how many will show.