error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
ayc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 3:35 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by ayc » Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:26 am

DaBuds wrote:Thank you Joomla! Master... that was the fix! You da man! :laugh:
Webdongle wrote:Ah common easy mistake to make
locate
error_reporting =
And change the value to
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
locate
display_errors = On
And change the value to
display_errors = Off
not
locate
;error_reporting =
And change the value to
;error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
locate
;display_errors = On
And change the value to
;display_errors = Off
Look very closely and remember that files are often documented with comments. In this particular file the comments are preceded by
;
The
;
Tells the computer the lines beginning with
;
are comments and not instructions.
Yes, for people who are not familiar with programming language, this is a not obvious problem. Some language use // or /*, -- as comment lines (high level language such as C, verilog, VHDL,etc). In this case, it's ';' which is normally used in machaine (assembly) language. :eek:
Cheers, AYC

Skipper83
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 5:47 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by Skipper83 » Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:10 pm

thanks guys,
you made my day!
located and edited the lines and now it really looks fine to me!

greetings from berlin!

kroki87
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:26 am

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by kroki87 » Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:34 am

Thank you a million! :)

obzour
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:50 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by obzour » Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:13 pm

guys pleas help
i swear i updated the PHP.ini file as you requested
i still having the same problem :((((((

note

i attached both the update in php file plus the error msgs i get on the site

note 2

i am using xampp 1.7 + joomla 1.7 both as localhost
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

obzour
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:50 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by obzour » Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:54 pm

dear all ;)

i solved the problem for XAMPP users by:

when installing xampp you first check if your system running 32 or 64 bit OS !
if 32 bit you should install the xampp on "xampp" root folder ! i mean when installing on C: or D: ...etc
it should be like this C:\xampp ...
if on a 64 bit ... it doesn't matter you can install on any directory ... like C:\ABC\xampp ...

before installing xampp also you have to disable the UAC for win vista and 7 users
and you can do that by doing the following :

Run Registry Editor (RegEdit).
Navigate to the following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System

Locate the following REG_DWORD value:
EnableLUA

Set the value of EnableLUA to 0.
Optional step to suppress UAC consent prompt dialog, locate the following REG_DWORD value:
ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin

Set the value of ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin to 0 (optional).
Exit from Registry Editor and restart the computer to turn off UAC.

then install your joomla ... as regular
after this we should update the php.ini file on the xampp directory ?\xampp\php\php.ini
and do the following :
locate
;error_reporting =
And change the value to
;error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
locate
;display_errors = On
And change the value to
;display_errors = Off
it is necessary updating the lines after the ; because they are the functional codes

hope this is helpfull :geek:

masukela1893
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by masukela1893 » Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:08 pm

Joomla Master,

I'm an absolute beginner and also having problems with:

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\Joomla\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 420

However I cannot find the file " C:\xampp\php\php.ini " on my PC, instead its "C:\xampp\php\php.ini-development"

Windows7 32 bit

Joomla 1.7.1

XAMPP 1.7.7

Please help!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44093
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by Webdongle » Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:52 pm

http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

ayc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 3:35 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by ayc » Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:49 pm

masukela1893 wrote:Joomla Master,

I'm an absolute beginner and also having problems with:

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\Joomla\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 420

However I cannot find the file " C:\xampp\php\php.ini " on my PC, instead its "C:\xampp\php\php.ini-development"

Windows7 32 bit

Joomla 1.7.1

XAMPP 1.7.7

Please help!
Hi masukela1893,

Did you see a php file in the Windows explorer with type "configuration"? if so, that's the right file you should edit. The php with type "ini-development" or "ini-production" are not. Be careful!

good luck!
Cheers, AYC

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44093
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by Webdongle » Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:32 pm

ayc wrote:....
Did you see a php file in the Windows explorer with type "configuration"? if so, that's the right file you should edit. ....
There are 2 php.ini files, the link in my previous Post shows how to locate the one to edit.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

obzour
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:50 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by obzour » Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:58 am

masukela1893 wrote:Joomla Master,

I'm an absolute beginner and also having problems with:

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\Joomla\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 420

However I cannot find the file " C:\xampp\php\php.ini " on my PC, instead its "C:\xampp\php\php.ini-development"

Windows7 32 bit

Joomla 1.7.1

XAMPP 1.7.7

Please help!
update the "php.ini-development" and save it at the same folder as php.ini

masukela1893
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by masukela1893 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:49 am

I tried to edit the file with NOTEPAD but it didn't work. Can I find a replacement for the php file?

OR should I down-grade to earlier versions of XAMPP and Joomla? I need to get this going asap.

Please advise.

Thank you.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44093
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by Webdongle » Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:08 pm

masukela1893 wrote:... I need to get this going asap.
.....
The quickest way is to concentrate on locating the php.ini file that's being loaded. see my previous post.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
3d web design
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:19 am
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by 3d web design » Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:26 pm

IT WORKS!!! I CAN NOT BELIEVE IT !!!
I dont touch anything
Changes in php.ini will be used from server after next restart ;)

To hide errors in this way is not a decision for me, maybe joomla 1.7 developers must rewrite this part of code.

In all joomla 1.7 error is present - we have 1.7.0, 1.7.2 and 1.7.3 installations - this error is everywhere. If switch error reporting at development mode from global config is shown on screen.

We have joomla 1.7.3 based websites and is not normal that only one site with 50 unique visitors daily make 1gb cache :-[

User avatar
fionaby
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:03 pm
Location: South Africa - Cape town

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by fionaby » Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:48 pm

Just remember to restart PC as service could still be running in windows 64bit.

Cohibas
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 5:12 am

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by Cohibas » Sun Dec 11, 2011 5:27 am

Thanks for a great thread. I was having the same problems installing joomla and was ready to pull my hair out until I came acoss this fix. Everything is running great now.

(just remember to restart)

carolaniger
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:29 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by carolaniger » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:08 am

obzour wrote:dear all ;)

when installing xampp you first check if your system running 32 or 64 bit OS !
if 32 bit you should install the xampp on "xampp" root folder ! i mean when installing on C: or D: ...etc
it should be like this C:\xampp ...
if on a 64 bit ... it doesn't matter you can install on any directory ... like C:\ABC\xampp ...

before installing xampp also you have to disable the UAC for win vista and 7 users
and you can do that by doing the following :

Run Registry Editor (RegEdit).
Navigate to the following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System

Locate the following REG_DWORD value:
EnableLUA

Set the value of EnableLUA to 0.
Optional step to suppress UAC consent prompt dialog, locate the following REG_DWORD value:
ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin

Set the value of ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin to 0 (optional).
Exit from Registry Editor and restart the computer to turn off UAC.

then install your joomla ... as regular
hope this is helpfull :geek:
THis was very helpful for me!!
I did the changing in the php.ini but it still didn't work, but now having followed these steps, everything is working fine!
Thanks to everyone helping out here, it is a great work you do!

newwung
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:43 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by newwung » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:00 am

Hey, I don't know why it's not working for me. I found my php.ini and changed the values to the suggested ones, but it didn't changed a bit.

I can't really stop Apache or MySQL in my XAMPP for some reason, so I simply exit XAMPP and launched it again.

I run on Windows 7, so I don't know if it makes any difference. Can anyone tell me what else I can do? Thank you in advanced.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44093
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by Webdongle » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:12 am

Make sure you are editing the correct php.ini file
Make sure you are editing the commands not the comments.

Or in Joomla admin Global config ,,, server tab ... change the 'Error Reporting' setting
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

tracer316
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:02 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by tracer316 » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:48 pm

yayyy..fixed it!

andrewngarts
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by andrewngarts » Tue Jan 10, 2012 7:58 pm

Hi All,

Thanks for your solution.
It works.

Andrew


In the php.ini file
locate
error_reporting =
And change the value to
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
locate
display_errors = On
And change the value to
display_errors = Off
Stop then restart xampp for the new settings to take effect
(N.B. there are comments about error_reporting = as well as the command line.)

The pic shows how to find the file php.ini, yours will be different but it should help you
Attachment:

Search file location

c:/xampp/php/php.ini file.

GRAPL
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:43 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by GRAPL » Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:09 pm

newwung wrote:Hey, I don't know why it's not working for me. I found my php.ini and changed the values to the suggested ones, but it didn't changed a bit.

I can't really stop Apache or MySQL in my XAMPP for some reason, so I simply exit XAMPP and launched it again.

I run on Windows 7, so I don't know if it makes any difference. Can anyone tell me what else I can do? Thank you in advanced.
Hi all

Have followed this thread with interest as it helped me with a few issues.

One thing I have noticed is that posters have noticed that problems are only being fixed after a reboot.

"simply exit XAMPP and launched it again" wouldn't work for me as I had chosen to run Apache, mySQL etc as a service.

One of my installation issues may suggest why.

I run Windows 7, and rarely run an Administrator user. When I install new software, I am prompted for my Administrator user/password.

XAMPP was installed as an Administrator, and when I tried to use the XAMPP Control Panel as my usual non-Administration user nothing happened.

The trick is to set up "xampp-control.exe" with Administrator privileges.

To do this open the Properties on "xampp-control.exe" in c:\xampp (Right-mouse-click). On the "Compatability" tab click box "Change Settings for all Users". You will be prompted for an Administrator user/password. Once supplied the "Run this program as an Administrator" option will be enabled. Make sure it is checked ON, and Apply the changes.

Now, whenever you start up XAMPP Control Panel in a non-Adminstrator user, you will be prompted for the Administrator user/password.

Alternatively you can RMC your shortcut to XAMPP Control Panel, and chose the "Run as Administrator" option.

Once the the Administrator user/password has been supplied, you will have full Administrator functionality in the XAMPP Control Panel.

HTH
GRAPL

shan_nit
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:41 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by shan_nit » Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:58 pm

I have the same error as reported in the beginning of the thread. i tried the solutionns but to no avail!:(
m using xamp 1.7.7 on windows 7 . urgently need smbdy's help

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44093
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by Webdongle » Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:22 pm

shan_nit wrote:I have the same error as reported in the beginning of the thread. i tried the solutionns but to no avail!...
Then you didn't apply the instructions accurately
Common errors
Editing the wrong php.ini file
Editing the comments not the commands
Not stopping restarting the services.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

sardhar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:54 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by sardhar » Wed Jul 04, 2012 11:46 am

pensake wrote: error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
display_errors = Off
Thanks a lot. I am using Joomla 1.5.26 and it is my production site.

Since there was no php.ini file exists, I just created a new file (php.ini) with above lines and save it inside Joomla administrator folder.

My problems were resolved. Now, there is no lengthy "Strict Standards errors" at my back end. ;-)

The important note is that you will see the result only if you restart your server.

Sardhar
http://www.hi5sys.com

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44093
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by Webdongle » Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:04 pm

sardhar wrote:...
The important note is that you will see the result only if you restart your server.
...
If your Hosting package allows you control to reboot the server then you probably will have access to the main php.ini file ???
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

sardhar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:54 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by sardhar » Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:04 am

sardhar wrote: error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
display_errors = Off


Since there was no php.ini file exists, I just created a new file (php.ini) with above lines and save it inside Joomla administrator folder.

My problems were resolved. Now, there is no lengthy "Strict Standards errors" at my back end. ;-)

The important note is that you will see the result only if you restart your server.
The above solution worked with Joomla 2.5.6 as well, without restarting the Apache server ;-)

Sardhar
http://www.hi5sys.com

User avatar
stgeorge
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: UK

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by stgeorge » Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:02 am

Actually this is a common error on Web servers also.
Rather than mess with ini files, just use your joomla backend admin:

Joomla Administration Backend:
Global Configuration->Server->Error Reporting->None.

The settings on install is 'System Default'.

abydos71
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 3:42 am

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by abydos71 » Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:35 am

Im having the same issue. I have changed the php.ini file as you requested. Ive uninstalled the template which I think did some damage. But nothing has changed.
Im using XAMPP 2.5

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44093
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by Webdongle » Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:15 pm

abydos71 wrote:... I have changed the php.ini file as you requested. ... But nothing has changed.
Im using XAMPP 2.5
Then you did one of the following
  • Edited the wrong php.ini file
  • Edited the correct php.ini file but edited the comments not the commands
  • Forgot to stop/restart xampp
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

preeti_vk
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:05 am

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Post by preeti_vk » Fri Nov 09, 2012 5:51 am

I tried all the steps above but still the same issue i get displaying all the errors i changed the proper command instruction
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
and
display_errors = Off
and restarted xampp. but still the issue s not resolved.
i use xampp 1.8.1 and joomla 1.5.26 not getting installed.


Locked

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 2.5”