Joomla integrated captcha not working?

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Surel
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:09 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by Surel » Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:02 am

Found the root of the problem. The template I used had disabled Mootools. Now it's up and running.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44089
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by Webdongle » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:56 am

Always test with a Template that is installed with Joomla
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

Praedecessor
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 2:07 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by Praedecessor » Sat Nov 23, 2013 2:10 pm

newtampaseo wrote:The same issue appeared for me on non-secure...

const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";

The API_SERVER in Joomla default code was wrong and I updated to above. RECAPTCHA now displayed on my site.
Thank you! That was the right decision for me. Best wishes! :)

vlastik
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working? SOLVED

Post by vlastik » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:00 am

Hello,

facing this problem too on my sites with Joomla 2.5.
SOLUTION:

Code: Select all

site_root/plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php
change lines 24-26 to:

Code: Select all

const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER = "www.google.com";
change line 118 to:

Code: Select all

$response = $this->_recaptcha_http_post(self::RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER, "/recaptcha/api/verify",
and test it.

Vlastik
http://www.joomy.net
JOOMY.net - building webs with Joomla, extension development

danieldinh
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:41 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by danieldinh » Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:45 pm

in file : site_root/plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php, line 69,

Replace by text :
JHtml::_('script', 'http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/js/ ... ha_ajax.js');

Because Google has changed url of library.

omesake
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:34 am

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by omesake » Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:39 am

danieldinh wrote:in file : site_root/plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php, line 69,

Replace by text :
JHtml::_('script', 'http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/js/ ... ha_ajax.js');

Because Google has changed url of library.
Thank you, this finaly works Thnx Thnx Thnx :)
It was actualy on line 61 by the way ;)

fitnessman8290
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by fitnessman8290 » Sun Dec 08, 2013 9:09 pm

Thanks for the fix - I've been having the same issues but what was posted earlier works!

tflores21
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 7:37 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by tflores21 » Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:53 am

Thank you vlastik! The detailed instructions helped me perfectly. Back in business. :geek:

dickd123
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:56 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by dickd123 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 12:21 pm

Great work guys! Many Thanks from here also!

AgentGraves
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by AgentGraves » Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:40 pm

Replace line 61 on mine and worked a treat! Thanks!!!!!!

rameshelamathi
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working? SOLVED

Post by rameshelamathi » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:22 pm

vlastik wrote:Hello,

facing this problem too on my sites with Joomla 2.5.
SOLUTION:

Code: Select all

site_root/plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php
change lines 24-26 to:

Code: Select all

const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER = "www.google.com";
change line 118 to:

Code: Select all

$response = $this->_recaptcha_http_post(self::RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER, "/recaptcha/api/verify",
and test it.

Vlastik
The same issue appears in the Joomla 3.x sites as well.
The solution here applies to 3x as well.
Open Source is freedom
----------------------------

dancingkazzaf
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 10:38 am

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by dancingkazzaf » Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:15 am

I have been having this problem with my Login form all that shows is the Captcha title text and nothing else. In the end this worked for me

plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php

const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";


I changed both the Api Server and Secure Server to this and it showed straight up. :)

ruud68
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:23 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by ruud68 » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:39 pm

Hi, is now also fixed in Joomla 3.2.1 and Joomla 2.5.17 releases!

User avatar
dattard
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by dattard » Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:14 pm

Yes, this has been fixed on Joomla 3.2.1 and 2.5.17. I was writing a tutorial on how to enable recaptcha in Joomla - and upgrading to the latest Joomla build fixed my problem.
https://www.collectiveray.com - We make Joomla and WordPress Easy: Tutorials, Tips and Tricks, Lots of Free Modules incl. Easy Paypal, Popin Window, Random Flash, Google AdSense, Slide Menu (dropdown), 2CO / Paypal payment, [youtube] module, and more!

idontknow75
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:55 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by idontknow75 » Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:59 pm

Praedecessor wrote:
newtampaseo wrote:The same issue appeared for me on non-secure...

const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";

The API_SERVER in Joomla default code was wrong and I updated to above. RECAPTCHA now displayed on my site.
Thank you! That was the right decision for me. Best wishes! :)
This solution works for me :) Thanks much !

idontknow75
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:55 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by idontknow75 » Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:01 pm

dattard wrote:Yes, this has been fixed on Joomla 3.2.1 and 2.5.17. I was writing a tutorial on how to enable recaptcha in Joomla - and upgrading to the latest Joomla build fixed my problem.
For your information, the link doesn't work.

User avatar
dattard
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by dattard » Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:03 pm

Yes, I'm experiencing some downtime, please check back again later.

Thanks and excuse the inconvenience.

Edit: It's fixed now
https://www.collectiveray.com - We make Joomla and WordPress Easy: Tutorials, Tips and Tricks, Lots of Free Modules incl. Easy Paypal, Popin Window, Random Flash, Google AdSense, Slide Menu (dropdown), 2CO / Paypal payment, [youtube] module, and more!

kckepz
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:33 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by kckepz » Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:09 pm

Just confirming that every line edited in this coding works and helped with the same problem I was having.

Thank you community.

https://github.com/SniperSister/joomla- ... 26c00bbf6a

dnzcgls
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by dnzcgls » Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:40 pm

Thank You Very Very Much :D

ricardopraia
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 9:43 am

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by ricardopraia » Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:38 am


OSlimey1
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:31 am

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by OSlimey1 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:27 pm

Ran into this issue with a 2.5.8 site. I have it working now. Not sure what was the absolute fix because I did three things.
1. Added the line in the PHP code - didn't fix
2. Generated new key from Google - didn't fix.
3. Updated the Joomla core to 2.5.11 - that seemed to fix it right away.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44089
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by Webdongle » Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:07 pm

Why did you not update to 2.5.18 ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

canadarama
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:01 pm
Location: Summerland, BC Canada

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by canadarama » Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:32 pm

I am stumped! I have tried all of the above, including updating site to 2.5.19 and captcha will not display at all: http://www.summerlandmotel.com/contact-us

canadarama
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:01 pm
Location: Summerland, BC Canada

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by canadarama » Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:00 pm

canadarama wrote:I am stumped! I have tried all of the above, including updating site to 2.5.19 and captcha will not display at all: http://www.summerlandmotel.com/contact-us
I knew it had to be something simple! I had to edit Contact Manager Options (Form tab) "Allow Captcha On Contact". :-[

lolol
I've been banned!
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:47 am

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by lolol » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:24 am

The possibility exists that displays the CAPTCHA code as I'm behind?
Can I show different changes in the plugin?

photokev
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:25 am

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by photokev » Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:04 pm

I had the same problem, I just re-did the keys and it's working fine

dparisi1988
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by dparisi1988 » Thu Jun 12, 2014 9:23 pm

canadarama wrote:
canadarama wrote:I am stumped! I have tried all of the above, including updating site to 2.5.19 and captcha will not display at all:

I knew it had to be something simple! I had to edit Contact Manager Options (Form tab) "Allow Captcha On Contact". :-[
Sometimes it's best not to over-think things! I'm glad it's working for you now

jootempl
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by jootempl » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:19 pm

I having problem with reCaptcha, i use Joomla 3.3.0. In reCaptcha have 2 keys: Site key and Secret key, i fill it to Public Key and Private Key of Captcha - ReCaptcha plugin, but it still do not work, please help

jootempl
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by jootempl » Sat Mar 21, 2015 10:01 am

I found a way to fix my above problem, i override folder captcha in url:
yoursite/plugins/captcha
by folder captcha at version 3.4.0, it worked well

jootempl
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Joomla integrated captcha not working?

Post by jootempl » Sat Mar 21, 2015 10:03 am

Only have a small problem is language display not well. But it still work


Locked

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 2.5”