The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:42 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:21 pm
Posts: 7
I migrated (updated) from joomla 1.7.3 to 2.5.

Here's my problem:

I edited an existing article then saved it. When I viewed the edits on the website, all of the information was piled into one paragraph (previously the information included bullets, links, and uploaded files). The links no longer work, the uploaded files (using docman) do not work, and I cannot get the information into the format I want (i.e. a list of information with bullets).

Here's what I did:

I redid the entire page and saved it. Same thing happened
I opened a new article and re-typed the information (along with links and files). Same thing happened.

How can I get the information I want on the page to be presented in the way it was before the migration?

Here's a link to a page that has not been changed and the format I want to keep: http://www.sealsswimclub.org/index.php/ ... -feb-18-19

Here's a link to the page with the information jumbled (the problem after moving to 2.5): http://www.sealsswimclub.org/index.php/ ... nuary-2012

Thank you for your help!
knmhodges


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:49 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:32 pm
Posts: 3
Hi! I'm having the same problem following upgrade from 1.7.3 to 2.5. I just went in to edit an existing article, and when I saved, it stripped away all the HTML formatting and images. It became just one continuous string of text. I tried creating a new article, and it did the same thing. Any ideas? Thanks!

Luke


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:21 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:32 pm
Posts: 3
I updated JCE Editor to the current version, and now it seems to be working! Yay!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:07 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:55 am
Posts: 4
I have the same problem, even though I have the latest update for JCE. I have tried using a default template and changing the editor to TinyMCE with the same results.

Are there any other ideas out there. Any help would be appriciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:44 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:21 pm
Posts: 7
I think the problem is fixed. Here's how I fixed it:

*I was using CK editor, which was outdated (the last version was 1.5)
*I uploaded JCE editor (current version for 2/5)
*changed the primary editor to JCE in the control panel

The formatting to my pages was restored by doing this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:55 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:55 am
Posts: 4
I had the latest version of JCE (2.0.20) installed before I updated to 2.5. I have tried making the changes to my article with one other editor and it didn't make a difference .

I have even tried changing my template to see if that might make the difference.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:06 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:21 pm
Posts: 7
Check to make sure JCE is your default editor by going to the global configuration. My JCE didn't work till I made it the default editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 3:48 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:55 am
Posts: 4
I have checked that it is the default and before and after I tried TinyMCE.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 4:34 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 1:38 am
Posts: 11
Location: Lecanto, Florida
I had the same problem until I changed to the Codemirror editor. It seams to be working fine now...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:11 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:55 am
Posts: 4
I fixed my problem by changing the text filtering for super admin to none and that allowed me to format the content correctly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 9:32 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:46 pm
Posts: 14
For me, only changing to codemirror worked. However, this is a major problem, because editors who work through the front end don't know any html or css. They need to be able to use either JCE or JK or something. I've tried the other suggestions in the postings here, and none of them work for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PeteFF and 72 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group