The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: JCache not found
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 2:55 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:42 am
Posts: 15
Hi,
I have Joomla 2.5 installed and its working fine for more than 3 months. Suddenly, when I tried to access my website or the admin page, it show me below error:

Fatal error: Class 'JCache' not found in /home/xxxxxx/public_html/libraries/joomla/factory.php on line 265

Can you please assist.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 7:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:44 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Omaha, NE / Ann Arbor, MI
This usually occurs when files go missing from the Joomla install, or when the cache directory become unwritable.

1. Be sure your cache directory is writable
2. Check to see if any files have gone missing or been renamed, especially
/[your-joomla-path]/libraries/joomla/cache/cache.php
3. Also check to be sure your site has not been hacked.

-Andy

_________________
▌▌ Andy Melichar, A2 Hosting Community Manager
▌▌ http://A2Hosting.com is a Joomla Global Platinum Sponsor
▌▌ Celebrating 10 Years of Hosting!
▌▌ Was my answer helpful? Say thanks by hosting with us! http://a2hosting.com/joomla-hosting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 12:28 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:42 am
Posts: 15
Hi,

There are no files in cache folder (libraries/joomla/cache). My site was working fine and all of a sudden how did the files went missing. Is there a way to check how files got deleted? Can you provide me the cache file, so that I can upload. Will that work?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 1:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:44 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Omaha, NE / Ann Arbor, MI
Download a copy of 2.5 from the Joomla site and copy over the missing files.

You'll need to ask your hosting company about the files. They may have some logs that can tell you how they were deleted.

_________________
▌▌ Andy Melichar, A2 Hosting Community Manager
▌▌ http://A2Hosting.com is a Joomla Global Platinum Sponsor
▌▌ Celebrating 10 Years of Hosting!
▌▌ Was my answer helpful? Say thanks by hosting with us! http://a2hosting.com/joomla-hosting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 2:41 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi hiteshkataria,

Quote:
Suddenly, when I tried to access my website or the admin page, it show me below error:
Fatal error: Class 'JCache' not found in /home/xxxxxx/public_html/libraries/joomla/factory.php on line 265


Right before the issue started happening, did you change anything? For example, did you install a new component, edit an article, or update anything?

If you changed nothing:
* Your website may have been hacked, and the people involved edited / removed some files
* Someone else who has access to your account (like a co-worker) may have done something to cause the issue

I work for a Joomla hosting company, and if you contact your own host, they should be able to look through ftp logs and other various logs. If a file was deleted for example, they should be able to see what IP address deleted it and when.

Keep us updated, I'm interested to see find out what the problem was.

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 7:27 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 6:54 pm
Posts: 3
bradm wrote:
...
Right before the issue started happening, did you change anything? For example, did you install a new component, edit an article, or update anything?


hello bradm and hiteshkataria

Two sites i'm working for are down as well.

http://www.culnatours.com.bo
http://www.comsibolivia.org.bo

with Exactly the same message our friend Hiteshkataria shows up there as you can see.

Would say it was the latest joomla update, 'cause i updated both sites kinda 3 days ago and didn't try accessing to them until today when COMSI staff told me it was down... Culnatours haven't said anything yet but it shows the same error as well. And well since hiteshkataria's post is from yesterday as the forum says, i think both his problem and mine are related.

andymelichar wrote:
Download a copy of 2.5 from the Joomla site and copy over the missing files.

You'll need to ask your hosting company about the files. They may have some logs that can tell you how they were deleted.


I'm going to try to do this, i just don't remember which version i updated to which one... joomla says to download 2.5.11, but i remember the version i updated it to was .14 or .15... would it affect to copy files from version .11? that's why i haven't done it yet...

Please correct me if i'm wrong about the version numbers! And also if i'm wrong about what i think. The error says

"Class 'JCache' not found in /home/xxxxxx/public_html/libraries/joomla/factory.php on line 265"

JCache is not a file, is an instruction inside the [b]factory.php[/p] file, and yes the file exists and this is what it says on line 265

Code:
$cache = JCache::getInstance($handler, $options);


I'm not into PHP and don't really know what it means (lol), but somehow that's the line with the error. Any ideas?

I'll now save a backup of that file and download the 2.5.11 full package, and replace that very file, but i don't expect it gets corrected. Also, if it was about the "factory.php" making trouble, i think only one of my two sites would be down.

I'm sure its about the Joomla version latest update, and i have NO access to the back end either. Is there any way to downgrade my sites to an earlier version?

I already have a blank 2.5.8 full package in my PC, but i don't know if its possible to downgrade to that version without losing any of my info and records on the webs.

Thank you very much, i'd appreciate any help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 7:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:44 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Omaha, NE / Ann Arbor, MI
Errors like this can occur is if all of the files are not properly copied up to your server. This could happen because:
1. The permissions on your server are preventing some of these files from being written when they are uploaded
2. Your FTP software isn't uploading everything
3. You accidentally missed a folder/file when you copied.
4. Files were deleted from your server

First I would back up everything, then I would download a fresh copy of the latest Joomla 2.5 version, upload it over your existing installation, and watch your FTP software carefully to see if any files/folders fail to upload. If everything is uploaded fine, you will likely have fixed your problem as well as upgraded to the most recent version.

There is never any reason to downgrade Joomla, nor is there any easy way to do so.

In terms of factory.php throwing the error, that doesn't mean factory.php is the culprit, it's just the PHP file that is starting the function that is causing the error. The function being called by factory.php could be in any number of files, or could be missing all together, which would cause the error to be reported from the factory.php file.

_________________
▌▌ Andy Melichar, A2 Hosting Community Manager
▌▌ http://A2Hosting.com is a Joomla Global Platinum Sponsor
▌▌ Celebrating 10 Years of Hosting!
▌▌ Was my answer helpful? Say thanks by hosting with us! http://a2hosting.com/joomla-hosting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 8:00 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 6:54 pm
Posts: 3
andymelichar wrote:
Errors like this can occur is if all of the files are not properly copied up to your server. This could happen because:
1. The permissions on your server are preventing some of these files from being written when they are uploaded
2. Your FTP software isn't uploading everything
3. You accidentally missed a folder/file when you copied.
4. Files were deleted from your server


well one of my sites has been working on from 5 months ago, and the 2nd one is from 1 month ago, and both of them crashed at the same time with this same error...

i mean:
- the permissions haven't been modified in that whole time (discarding point 1)
- when i updated joomla on both sites i did it through the web directly, not using ftp software, came into the back end, said "Update!" and i said "Yes! :D", and it did everything itself (discarding point 2).
- files haven't been modified either, made no modification at all for at least two weeks, in any of both webs (discarding point 3).

That would leave us the 4th alternative... my host is [url banned].com, would 000wh randomly delete exactly the same single files on both webs?

I will try what you say anyway, thank you... so i just unzip the latest version and upload it, then install it as if it was in a blank web?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 8:38 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:44 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Omaha, NE / Ann Arbor, MI
I doubt your host had anything to do with it, us hosting companies aren't in the habit of deleting files on our customer's websites - if we did that, we wouldn't have any customers :)

It is possible your site(s) have been hacked, the only person who would be able to tell you when/how/why the files are missing *might* be your hosting company.

Yes, copying the entire Joomla install on top of the existing install *should* return your site to a functional state, assuming nothing else is going on with your hosting that could be causing the trouble. Just be sure you back everything up before you try it.

_________________
▌▌ Andy Melichar, A2 Hosting Community Manager
▌▌ http://A2Hosting.com is a Joomla Global Platinum Sponsor
▌▌ Celebrating 10 Years of Hosting!
▌▌ Was my answer helpful? Say thanks by hosting with us! http://a2hosting.com/joomla-hosting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 3:57 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 6:54 pm
Posts: 3
andymelichar wrote:

Yes, copying the entire Joomla install on top of the existing install *should* return your site to a functional state, assuming nothing else is going on with your hosting that could be causing the trouble. Just be sure you back everything up before you try it.


Ok then, i made a backup, and then i uploaded a new fresh Joomla 2.5.11 overwriting all what i already had on my site, and its installation. Then i had to just delete the installation directory and tried again.

Worked perfectly! Thank you very much! Hope this also helps the one who created the post :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 4:25 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:44 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Omaha, NE / Ann Arbor, MI
Glad it worked out!

_________________
▌▌ Andy Melichar, A2 Hosting Community Manager
▌▌ http://A2Hosting.com is a Joomla Global Platinum Sponsor
▌▌ Celebrating 10 Years of Hosting!
▌▌ Was my answer helpful? Say thanks by hosting with us! http://a2hosting.com/joomla-hosting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JCache not found
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 10:53 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:42 am
Posts: 15
As I could not get the FTP log from my host, I downloaded the latest version of Jommla and deleted the installation folder. Now I'm able to acces the site.

Thanks a lot!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kclark, luisalonsobr, Tonie and 55 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group