[Solved] Redirect User on Registration

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Ellsinore
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

[Solved] Redirect User on Registration

Post by Ellsinore » Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:05 pm

I feel kind of stupid clicking the "new topic" button for this, because it's not a new one. It's as old as the hills. But the only suitable solutions I've been able to find involve editing components/com_users/controllers/registration.php -- which we aren't supposed to do. And while I *can* do it, my site(s) are automatically upgraded when new 2.5.* releases are available. Heaven forbid that might happen while I'm away on a long weekend.

I don't need anything fancy. The login module is fine for my purposes -- it redirects on login just fine. But after someone registers, all the emails go out as they should, but the user lands on a blank page that tells them . . . nothing?

I'm guessing that, with all the noise about the problem, the solution is buried somewhere in all the articles/posts/inquiries where the OP is told to find the answer in an extension, or edit the core files. I've downloaded several of the modules/plugins -- not one that I've found handles the redirect on registration. Lots of fancy login modules, though. I don't need fancy. I just need the user to be redirected to a page that tells them they've registered successfully and there are emails on the way.