Cross-linked blog categories

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
erichf
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Cross-linked blog categories

Post by erichf » Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:47 pm

I've created a category structure that looks something like this
main1
main2
projects
-project1
--general
--status
--releases
---rel1
---rel2
---rel3
--docs
--call log
-project2
--general
--status
--releases
---rel1
---rel2
--docs
--call log
-project3
--general
--status
--releases
---rel1
---rel2
---rel3
--docs
--call log

The main menu is main1, main2, projects where projects displays a category list showing only one level of categories.

When I navigate through project 1, everything works fine. When I navigate through project2, it navigates properly until I attempt to select rel1. At that point, it displays rel1 from project1 rather than project2. The URL shows project2 but the breadcrumbs show project1. The same thing happens when I select any category at that level.

I'm looking at the Category table in the database but I don't see anything wrong there.
I've tried rebuilding the category list using the Rebuild button in the category manager.
When I unpublish the project categories, the other category rel1 link back to a single articlein the project1 category.

Any ideas?

erichf
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

SOLVED: Cross-linked blog categories

Post by erichf » Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:14 pm

The problem turned out to be caused by the aliases that were being created automatically for some categories.