Includes Define.php error on J2.5 webpage

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Ginza
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Includes Define.php error on J2.5 webpage

Post by Ginza » Tue Dec 30, 2014 4:01 pm

My web hosting recently migrated to a new server. Ever since they moved, I got php error every now and then. I logged ticket with them however they are clueless and asked me to contact developer. There was no issues prior to the migration. Below is the error on my index.php page. Please check and see if it is something I can resolve from my end.

Code: Select all

Warning: require_once(/home/website/public_html/includes/defines.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/website/public_html/index.php on line 18

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/website/public_html/includes/defines.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/altphp/lib/php') in /home/website/public_html/index.php on line 18
Coming Soon!

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Includes Define.php error on J2.5 webpage

Post by toivo » Tue Dec 30, 2014 6:27 pm

The file /includes/defines.php is missing from the Joomla folder. You can find it from the installation archive. Copy it to the server to the subfolder includes in the main Joomla folder. If more similar errors occur, it is best to copy all the files.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

Ginza
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by Ginza » Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:32 pm