The case of the unwanted redirects

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
qmeister
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

The case of the unwanted redirects

Post by qmeister » Fri Oct 23, 2015 6:12 pm

Hi,

I have a very intriguing case of redirects which I can't seem to resolve. To explain: a previous developer had set up a custom component to manage redirects from a previous shop to the new URLs which resulted after changing to the new shop component. All of that happened some time ago and we no longer need those redirects in place. Furthermore we've discovered that it is preventing genuine 404 error logging to occur. So I've located and uninstalled that component however we are still getting redirects for incorrect URLs instead of a 404 error but only when the URL is shop-related.

To explain with some examples:

domain.com/some-Joomla-category/article-name.html is a genuine correct URL. If we try domain.com/some-Joomla-category/article-namexxxxx.html then we get the default Joomla 404 error page.

domain.com/shop-category-215/category-name.html is a genuine correct URL. If we try domain.com/shop-category-215/category-namexxxxx.html we don't get the default Joomla 404 error page but rather we are redirected to the Mijoshop homepage which we don't have published on the site.

We have disabled the Mijoshop Redirect plugin, the Joomla System Redirect plugin and have checked in sh404sef that we have no such redirects in place. Furthermore we have removed all redirects from htaccess and still this is occurring.

I can't think how else this might be happening.