Problems with Confirguration

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
walby3
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Problems with Confirguration

Post by walby3 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:06 pm

Apologies in advance I truly am not a web designer and don't pretend to be!

I've just changed my hosting company to 123-Reg and since my website hasnt been working. I have copied over all the files and database and changed a few bits of the configuration file as 123-reg requested but I keep getting this error.

Database Error: Unable to connect to the database:Could not connect to MySQL

123-Reg have tried to fix the problem but have apparently tested it and there is no problem with Database but must be a problem with the website itself and suggested I try this forum. If anyone on here could lend any help it would be appreciated I'm pretty much at the end of my tether with it all now to be honest.

Thanks in advance everyone!

NickC4555
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Problems with Confirguration

Post by NickC4555 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:30 pm

These entries in configuration.php (in the root of your website) need updating:

public $host = 'localhost';
public $user = 'database user name';
public $password = '************';
public $db = 'database name';

$host is probably 'localhost', but could be an IP address if your database and website are on different servers. Have you created a database user and assigned it permissions to the database?

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by imanickam » Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:39 pm