VERY slow Category listing

Discussion regarding Joomla! 2.5 Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
virusys
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

VERY slow Category listing

Post by virusys » Thu Dec 27, 2012 2:15 am

I am having a problem with a menu item that leads to a category page list of 50 - 100 articles.

The debug profile information is puzzling:

Application 0.000 seconds (+0.000); 1.21 MB (+1.210) - afterLoad
Application 0.096 seconds (+0.095); 9.77 MB (+8.557) - afterInitialise
Application 0.400 seconds (+0.305); 26.34 MB (+16.576) - afterRoute
Application -250.697 seconds (+-251.097); 31.40 MB (+5.056) - afterDispatch
Application -250.678 seconds (+0.019); 32.03 MB (+0.632) - beforeRenderModule mod_jw_srfr (Newsfeeds)

Overall, the site is performing pretty well, but these links to category listings are a big problem.

Anything I can check to fix this?

nzimas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: VERY slow Category listing

Post by nzimas » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:30 am

[BEGIN VENTING]

We are going through the exact same misery.
I believe Joomla 2.5 has some deep design flaws that no one cared to address so far. Flaws that most likely had made it into Joomla 3.0.
I've been using Joomla since the Mambo times and may drop it soon precisely because of this type of performance issues. Developers in this community seem to care more about cosmetic details like the Bootstrap interface than the core flaws we have been reporting over the years. Truly frustrating.
Unless you fix these shortcomings yourself, expect no plausible answer this type of problems because there is none.