Language tag in language switcher

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
vis22
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Language tag in language switcher

Post by vis22 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:21 am

Our site is multilingual (7 languages) and everything works fine except for one thing in language switcher module.
In our settings we've defined that language tag (en) for default language is not shown in URL addresses. That works fine. However, if we use language switcher module to switch to another language and then wish to return to English language, this module will add language tag /en/ to URL. That means that we have double URL addresses for all content in English language, with and without /en/ tag, although we defined that tag should not be shown.
How can we resolve this issue and remove /en/ tag from URL addresses shown in language switcher module?

TheThingIs
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Language tag in language switcher

Post by TheThingIs » Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:29 am

Go to Extensions=>Plugin Manager=>Filter by System=>Edit 'System - Language Filter' Remove default language prefix => YES.

If you did everything else correctly it does work fine.
Make sure you have 2.5.6 installed.

vis22
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by vis22 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 11:17 am

I have already done that. As I've said all URLs are showing ok until I use language switcher module. Let me try to explain it again: