[SOLVED] MENU issue

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
dillydally
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

[SOLVED] MENU issue

Post by dillydally » Fri Aug 17, 2012 1:56 pm

Please can someone clarify for me as it all seems like it should work but I just cannot get the menu to display an item for ALL languages it just gives me a 404 error.

As I understood if I have an item and mark it for ALL languages and link it to the Menu in i.e. pt-PT but set the language as ALL then it should show up whether I add it to a menu in pt-PT or en-GB etc?

I've read everything I can find and tried everything I can imagine, even changing the categories to ALL ... yet I still have an issue. One thing is that I am using K2 for content ... could it be related to this?

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it as otherwise I shall have to make 4 content pages for each item that should display in 1 language only.
:(
Last edited by dillydally on Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: MENU issue

Post by infograf768 » Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:03 am

Try to set the menu item to the UI language, i,e
an article tagged to ALL in a category tagged to ALL, and also parent.
Add a menu item tagged to the language concerned in the menu displaying in that language, menu item linking to the article tagged to ALL.

If this does not work, then please contact K2 devs
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

dillydally
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: MENU issue

Post by dillydally » Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:18 pm

Thank you very much for replying.