How to get SEF's Without Menu Item Being Listed

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 2.5. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 2.5 extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ToonGuns
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

How to get SEF's Without Menu Item Being Listed

Post by ToonGuns » Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:50 pm

Hi All,

Just an thank you in advance for any help.

I am trying to restructure some of the URL's on my website so that, at least in google's eyes, the structure is more "pyramidal" and makes more sense.

The problem I am coming up against is that I don't necessarily want all pages linked from the menu of the site, as the drop-down menu will be massive... so how is it possible to control the SEF URL's and specify what they are, without the pages appearing in the menu?

For example, if I have a page currently that is:

http://www.site.com/parent-page/child-page

How to I keep the "Child Page" article at this URL, without having to have the item listed in the menu at:

Home > Parent > Child

?

Much appreciated

Regards

NathanHawks
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: How to get SEF's Without Menu Item Being Listed

Post by NathanHawks » Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:03 pm

The answer: hidden menus.

Say you have in your Menu Manager, MainMenu and SEOMenu. You would present a module in your front-end for MainMenu, but you would not issue a module for SEOMenu.

Build your MainMenu normally.