Securing images folder against php

Discussion regarding Joomla! 2.5 security issues.

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
FootstepsDesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Securing images folder against php

Post by FootstepsDesign » Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:01 pm

Hi,

We have repeatedly had clients that have been hacked through the /images folder due to php script hacks.

These come in a multitude of guises with the latest one being a .gif file. They usually work by evaluating a specially crafted url. Some of the more clever ones will also zip the malicious code to generate a smaller url.

This can prove problematic if you try to limit scripting as it is not always the same file extenions within the folder so we looked in to a different solution and came up with the following:

This solution only works on 'nix distros
  • Create a .htaccess file within the root images folder or amend it if it already exists
  • Add the following line:

Code: Select all

php_flag engine off
Unfortunately due to the volatility of the naming conventions in IIS we don't have a blanket fix to remove the handlers for PHP in IIS but the following code shows the general principal for the web.config file assuming the handlers haven't been locked at a higher level.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<configuration>
    <system.webServer>
        <handlers>
            <remove name="PHP 5" />
        </handlers>
    </system.webServer>
</configuration>
Last edited by imanickam on Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved the topic from the forum Joomla! Ideas Forum to the forum Security in Joomla! 2.5

sitesrus
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Securing images folder against php

Post by sitesrus » Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:26 pm