Win 7 + XAMPP + MS Webservices - major issues/conflicts

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ADoobie
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Win 7 + XAMPP + MS Webservices - major issues/conflicts

Post by ADoobie » Mon May 30, 2011 9:37 pm

Hey All,

Okay, maybe it wasn't joomla - but I did this ridiculous auto-install on localhost with the bundled Microsoft local webservices or whatever the heck its called that came with (or was needed) for this specific Joomla release package...

I also had an XAMMP localhost installed at the time

First thing that happened were memory errors. Immediately after rebooting after install. Windows literally started coughing on its own blood. This is Windows 7 on a 2ghz dual core 4gb DDR 3 laptop. Shouldn't be having any resource problems.

Next thing that happened, after a second reboot, was a small message pasted into my desktop that says "This version of windows is not genuine" or whatever that standard stuff is.

This is a legit copy of windows that came with the laptop. Laptop is a little over a month old.

Any ideas what the heck could have happened? I'm under a strict deadline, and losing my PC to this is going to kill me. I'm about 2 hours away from doing a complete reformat.

Any help would be much appreciated.

PS I've tried un-installing every MS related product that came with this stupid web services pack (all sorts of SQL stuff, patches, updates, etc) ... I've also gone ahead and un-installed my XAMMP)

Thanks,
Allan
Last edited by humvee on Wed May 02, 2012 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Title changed to something more relevant

Webdongle
Joomla! Master