The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:45 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:36 pm
Posts: 2
Hi there, following pre installation checks, I cannot figure out why, in step 2, this directive is getting a "No":
Database Support() "no"

My machine have installed, mysql 5.1.61 for Debian, Php 5.3.6 and apache 2.2.20
Any help will be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:36 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22569
Location: Chennai, India
Review of the discussion http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=236&t=277540 could be of help.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 1:18 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:36 pm
Posts: 2
Many thanks Imanickam but this link is a win32 oriented one, equally I tried but still don´t figure out to find the way to change this flag to "Yes"
:(
Regards,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 4:00 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:15 pm
Posts: 2
I have the same problem.
I get to pre-Installation Check and "Database Support:()" is set to NO....
Does anyone know how to fix this?
(I am using a mac and cpanel for this website).
I have called up the hosting help desk, they don't know how to help.. (great!).
Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks kindly,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 11:29 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
It would seem that neither of you have AMP configured to interact with each other. This could be as simple as enabling MySQLi support in the php.ini configuration file. It is difficult to answer issues on the wide variation of OS and AMP installation methods that are available.
On Debian it may well be that you can create an automatically configured LAMP installation.
The Mac Server option in a production server is new to me and you need to do a lot more work researching this yourself.
Either of you might be able to install and use Zend Server CE is a community edition without technical support and a few other features and Zend Server which is a paid for installation with "bells and whistles". Both can be used on the three main OS and others, but how it might interact (interfere) with existing control panels I have no idea. The beauty of Zend is that they are the commercial arm of PHP itself and therefore there is a lot of knowledge with them. You can also start with CE and upgrade to the full system at any time.
HTH

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group