How do I transfer a Joomla website to a new domain?

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ErnyF
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

How do I transfer a Joomla website to a new domain?

Post by ErnyF » Tue May 01, 2012 8:18 am

I have an existing joomla website which I need to change to a new domain name whilst keeping in its present form and content. (The company has changed its name and I need to migrate the whole site to a new domain name).

How can I achieve this without having to completely re-write the pages / articles and modules etc..? Thanks ErnyF

humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: How do I transfer a Joomla website to a new domain?

Post by humvee » Tue May 01, 2012 8:21 am

[Mod note: Moved from Upgrading Forum to Installation Forum.]

humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by humvee » Tue May 01, 2012 8:21 am

Are you changing servers/hosts? Or just the domain name?

mod911
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by mod911 » Tue May 01, 2012 10:42 am

@ErnyF:

If you are just changing domain name under the same Server/Host, try this one:

1. Add the domain name on your server. If you are using Cpanel, go to "Addon Domains" page, then add your domain name and set its directory where your current website is located from your server.
2. Update your new domain name servers. On your domain management panel, point your new domain to your Host Server Name where your website is located (example: ns1.samplehost.com, ns2.samplehost.com<<<get this info from your web hosting provider).

If you are migrating your whole website to a New Host/Server and New domain, try this one: