Need begining installation help

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
muckky
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Need begining installation help

Post by muckky » Fri May 11, 2012 6:22 pm

Trying to install joomla with no luck. This is for a new website where nothing has been created yet. Using Hosting.com as hosting company. First realized I needed to switch to Linux hosting to support Joomla, which I did. Still not able to install. I used Filezilla to xfr joomla install files from my computer to website. I've read beginners instructions and even bought Joomla Explained by Stephen Burge. Still can't see the language page to even get started. I have no idea what to do now.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by humvee on Mon May 14, 2012 3:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked as resolved

digitalsoul
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Re: Need begining installation help

Post by digitalsoul » Fri May 11, 2012 6:43 pm

have you tried going to your domain using a browser? Any errors? It could also be an issue of where your domain is pointing to, what folder? Basing on your screenshot, your joomla files are in the root. Are you certain that your domain is configured on your CPanel to point to the root?

Please elucidate to be able to help you further. ;D

muckky
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by muckky » Fri May 11, 2012 6:58 pm

I did try to open up in browser. I went to my website name/installation and got this:

The website declined to show this webpage
HTTP 403
Most likely causes:
•This website requires you to log in.