Fatal error: Class 'JLog' not found

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Nunzio2012
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Fatal error: Class 'JLog' not found

Post by Nunzio2012 » Sun May 13, 2012 12:42 pm

I've been trying to install Joomla! and had a few other fatal errors but up to now have managed to find the corrupted file and re-upload it successfully. This one has me stumped, however. I am completely new to Joomla! so please use the simplest terms possible and be as detailed as possible with any instructions.

So here is the error message I get:
Fatal error: Class 'JLog' not found in /www/zymichost.com/n/u/n/nunziosnj/htdocs/libraries/joomla/environment/request.php on line 22
So I went to the libraries folder, then the joomla folder, then the environment folder and checked the request.php file. I'm using FileZilla. The file isn't corrupt, it fully uploaded correctly. So I checked line 22 of the file which reads:
JLog::add('JRequest is deprecated.', JLog::WARNING, 'deprecated');
So I'm at a bit of a loss as to what is going on. Any ideas? Any other details needed to figure out what's going on?

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Fatal error: Class 'JLog' not found

Post by toivo » Sun May 13, 2012 12:46 pm

According to the error message, the class JLog is not found. This class is defined in libraries/joomla/log/log.php which file must be missing or corrupt.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

Nunzio2012
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Nunzio2012 » Sun May 13, 2012 12:56 pm