Apache won't start XAMPP

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
WLTR
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Apache won't start XAMPP

Post by WLTR » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:39 pm

Hey everyone,

I just bought a Joomla template and downloaded the Joomla 2.5.8 package and wanted to see how it all works, so I downloaded XAMPP hoping to first configure the entire website offline.

Long story short: I created a map called Joomla in xampp/htdocs, I start the XAMPP control panel but I can't get Apache to work: Error: Apache shutdown unexpectedly.

Code: Select all

13:38:57  [Apache] 	Attempting to start Apache app...
13:38:57  [Apache] 	Status change detected: running
13:38:57  [Apache] 	Status change detected: stopped
13:38:57  [Apache] 	Error: Apache shutdown unexpectedly.
13:38:57  [Apache] 	This may be due to a blocked port, missing dependencies, 
13:38:57  [Apache] 	improper privileges, a crash, or a shutdown by another method.
13:38:57  [Apache] 	Check the "/xampp/apache/logs/error.log" file
13:38:57  [Apache] 	and the Windows Event Viewer for more clues
I have unchecked the port 88 in Skype and even closed Skype entirely... What can be the problem here?

PS: I'm using Windows 7 and MySQL seems to work fine, the User Account Control settings UAC are set to 'never notify'.

humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Apache won't start XAMPP

Post by humvee » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:32 pm

WLTR wrote:Long story short: I created a map called Joomla in xampp/htdocs, I start the XAMPP control panel but I can't get Apache to work: Error: Apache shutdown unexpectedly.