Ordering problem

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Craggie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Ordering problem

Post by Craggie » Thu Apr 26, 2012 8:40 pm

I am running 2.5.4. with the sample data set. Setting the order of the articles in the '__Joomla' category seems to have no effect. Indeed, after many attempts to insert a simple bit of text (article) after the Joomla!, Beginners, Upgraders, Professional articles then the order of those articles is unpredictable. Or did I miss something?

Klementz
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Ordering problem

Post by Klementz » Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Craggie wrote:I am running 2.5.4. with the sample data set. Setting the order of the articles in the '__Joomla' category seems to have no effect. Indeed, after many attempts to insert a simple bit of text (article) after the Joomla!, Beginners, Upgraders, Professional articles then the order of those articles is unpredictable. Or did I miss something?
Are you going to the Article Manager, and clicking the "Ordering" column head to activate ordering, and arranging the articles the way you want there?

Ordering is controlled by the menu item. For example, if the menu is a "Category Blog" type, then under Blog Layout Options on the right-hand side, you would set Article Order to "Article Manager Order" (or what ever you want).
http://www.jdanielclements.com (Personal photography site)
http://www.coinzoo.net (World coin collection with animals)

Craggie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Craggie » Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:39 am