localhost/joomla/administrator: Object not found

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
rpir
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

localhost/joomla/administrator: Object not found

Post by rpir » Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:25 pm

Hello everybody,
I have an xampp local platform and a joomla 2.5. site.
Everything worked properly until I tried to upload it to a live free hosting server.
I registered a domain name to a free provided registar and then I compressed joomla htdocs and also extracted the respective sql from xampp myphpadmin. Unfortunately I did not manage to upload the site but my problem is that after the process above I can not access my localhost/joomla/administrator. The message it returns is "Error 404" Object not found. Nevertheless my localhost/joomla (frontend) works properly.
Since I am comparatively new, I can not understand how I lost my administrator and how I can recover it.
Can you please help?
Thanks in advance
Last edited by humvee on Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked as resolved

pavanparasa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: localhost/joomla/administrator: Object not found

Post by pavanparasa » Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:32 pm

This can be a xampp issue as well.

Run your control panel - xampp-control.exe from the xampp installation folder and if you are using Win 7 then right click and select to run as an administrator even though you may be logged into your PC as an administrator.

2. Sop Apache and MySQL (and any other running component).

3. Remove any ticks in the Svc check boxes by simply clicking on the tick if there are any present.