How to link theTitle of the Article to an External Link

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
superx11
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

How to link theTitle of the Article to an External Link

Post by superx11 » Sat Dec 15, 2012 12:23 pm

I am wondering, how can I make the title-link, to link to another external webpage, and NOT to my article? Right now, I have to hide the title and create a link that looks like a title, that links to other page on the Internet.

Is it possible to change the link-title so it links to external pages.
Last edited by imanickam on Sat Dec 15, 2012 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Split from the posthttp://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=624&t=781266

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: How to link theTitle of the Article to an External Link

Post by imanickam » Sat Dec 15, 2012 12:39 pm

Yes, you could do that. You may have to change some core Joomla! files.

Whether all the titles would be linked to one external site/link or they would be different? Depending on the answer, the solution may vary.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

rcarey
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Post by rcarey » Sat Dec 15, 2012 3:47 pm

This can be done safely. You need to override the view file that displays the title. This could be for a module that lists articles by title, but more likely (I assume) you want this to happen within the display of an article itself.