Root path to Media Manager

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
john+bishop
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Root path to Media Manager

Post by john+bishop » Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:28 pm

Hello ! My internet service provider set up a new root path to their server. While I can change the folder path , e.g. images/stories and create folders in the Media Manger (via Global Configuration), I cannot figure out how to change the root path to the server. Any leads very much appreciated...

NathanHawks
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Root path to Media Manager

Post by NathanHawks » Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:14 pm

The answer is either that you shouldn't need to, because joomla internally auto detects it; or you shouldn't need to, because despite the site moving to a new home on the disk, the base web address won't have changed.

A possible third answer is that I am not clear on what you are asking :)
Save time - hire me for your Joomla to-do list! http://nathanhawks.us/joomla

john+bishop
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by john+bishop » Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:59 pm

Thanks for your help…much appreciated ! I am using the Art Sexy Lightbox plugin to display a slide show. Worked like a charm for years. Now am getting the following error message that displays on the website:

Could not open a directory stream for /hermes/bosoraweb030/b2586/ipw.mbcondorentalscom/public_html/nb25/|||quot;images/test|||quot;/

I contacted my ISP who said that I need to use:
/home/users/web/b2586/ipw.mbcondorentalscom/public_html/nb25/

I cannot figure out how to tell Joomla to use the new path. The ISP people said to look at the plugin…which makes no sense to me given the error message.