Manage subdomain from within Joomla?

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Kanjidude
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Manage subdomain from within Joomla?

Post by Kanjidude » Tue Apr 28, 2015 4:40 pm

Hello,

Apologies if this seems terribly confused, but I am but a webdesigner and not very knowledgeable when it comes to the server side.

Is it possible to set up a subdomain from within Joomla? I want to upload some html/Flash/image files (an interactive Flash/HTML5 course created in Articulate Storyline) to a Joomla website I have been tasked with running, and I figured the best way to do so would be to create a subdomain (so that I get out of Joomla's grasp and can upload .html files).

The problem is that our web host does not provide any kind of panel like Cpanel (which would have made things easy) and does not provide hardly any kind of support. When I asked them to set up a subdomain (files.example.com) they just said "Sure, you now have a subdomain! Here is the ip-number!". When I asked them how to use and access the subdomain and what directory it was linked to so I could access it with FTP they refused to answer, and just told me "That functionality is available inside Joomla - hire a consultant if you don't know how to do it."

So that's where I am at now: My boss is getting impatient, but I don't know how to proceed, and apparently it's all "available from inside Joomla". Can anyone help me? Is it even correct - can I create a non-Joomla subdomain from inside Joomla? I have administrator access to Joomla and the FTP.