404 Error after Migration to New Hosting Service

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jasari123
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

404 Error after Migration to New Hosting Service

Post by jasari123 » Mon May 05, 2014 3:12 pm

Hi,
I have migrated our website built on joomla 2.5 to a new hosting service. Browsing to every page beside home page generates a 404 error.

The domain is not yet forwarded but links are created dynamically so I don't think the 404 error is a related to domain not being forwarded.

The followings are updated in the configuration.php file to reflect the new settings:
$dbtype
$host
$user
$password
$db
$dbprefix
$live_site
* the ftp and email setting are also updated

Is there any settings related to menu links that need to be set somewhere?

Thanks, Jananeh

conlippert
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: 404 Error after Migration to New Hosting Service

Post by conlippert » Tue May 06, 2014 2:57 pm

Is SEF turned on? Turn it off and see if this still happens. The SEF stuff might not work well until the domain name servers are pointing to the new servers.

johnbcnone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by johnbcnone » Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:54 pm

I have same problem as jasari123. I took a back up from the original site on my computer as local host. URL links or links to html files work. Links relating to articles in the Article Manager generate 404 errors, yet these links will work on my computer as local host. I am not very familar with Joomla, any help appreciated. Evidence of the problem can be seen on site http://www.munsterhillwalks.com

Regards johnbcnone

conlippert