How to fix my replication of an existing J25 to localhost?

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
User avatar
mdivk
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 3:28 pm

How to fix my replication of an existing J25 to localhost?

Post by mdivk » Fri Nov 20, 2015 10:47 pm

I have a working J25 website, I want to upgrade it to J34, here is what I tested on my local wamp server:

1. downloaded a full copy of the working site, say site1 and also its db export site1.sql with prefix of s1_
2. downloaded a legacy J25 from official Joomla website
3. installed a local J25 site, say J25, with db of prefix of J25_
4. in J25 db, import site1.sql, now the J25 db has tables of s1_ and J25_
5. in J25 db, create user same as site1 for using in site1 db
6. in J25, change configuration as following:
dbprefix: changed from J25_ to s1_
user/password: changed to the same as site1 (newly created)

I am not sure if there is any missing, when I go to open localhost/J25, it automatically downloads a file called download, and its content is pasted here:

Code: Select all

<?php
/**
 * @package		Joomla.Site
 * @copyright	Copyright (C) 2005 - 2014 Open Source Matters, Inc. All rights reserved.
 * @license		GNU General Public License version 2 or later; see LICENSE.txt
 */

// Set flag that this is a parent file.
define('_JEXEC', 1);
define('DS', DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR);

if (file_exists(dirname(__FILE__) . '/defines.php')) {
	include_once dirname(__FILE__) . '/defines.php';
}

if (!defined('_JDEFINES')) {
	define('JPATH_BASE', dirname(__FILE__));
	require_once JPATH_BASE.'/includes/defines.php';
}

require_once JPATH_BASE.'/includes/framework.php';

// Mark afterLoad in the profiler.
JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark('afterLoad') : null;

// Instantiate the application.
$app = JFactory::getApplication('site');

// Initialise the application.
$app->initialise();

// Mark afterIntialise in the profiler.
JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark('afterInitialise') : null;

// Route the application.
$app->route();

// Mark afterRoute in the profiler.
JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark('afterRoute') : null;

// Dispatch the application.
$app->dispatch();

// Mark afterDispatch in the profiler.
JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark('afterDispatch') : null;

// Render the application.
$app->render();

// Mark afterRender in the profiler.
JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark('afterRender') : null;

// Return the response.
echo $app;

How can I fix it?

Thank you very much.
Last edited by imanickam on Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:33 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Moved the topic from the forum Installation Joomla! 3.x to the forum Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 2.5

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28193
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: How to fix my replication of an existing J25 to localhos

Post by imanickam » Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:49 am

Review of the document https://docs.joomla.org/Copying_a_Jooml ... _method.29 would be of help.

Be informed that for copying a Joomla! site, Stable Full Version of Joomla! need not be downloaded and installed. The downloaded files from the server are indeed Joomla! files.

One thing to bear in mind is that when a user is created in the database, make sure to GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES to the user.

Also, be aware to change the log & tmp file directory names in the file configuration.php.

Note:
Extensions such as Akeeba Backup Core would be of help in copying web sites.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
mdivk
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 3:28 pm

Re: How to fix my replication of an existing J25 to localhos

Post by mdivk » Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:55 am

Thank you, here is the path, any problem?
public $log_path = 'C:\\wamp\\www\\j25/logs';
public $tmp_path = 'C:\\wamp\\www\\j25/tmp';

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28193
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: How to fix my replication of an existing J25 to localhos

Post by imanickam » Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:45 am

mdivk wrote:ublic $log_path = 'C:\\wamp\\www\\j25/logs';
public $tmp_path = 'C:\\wamp\\www\\j25/tmp';
Does not seem to be a problem.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
bhaumik
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 6:24 am

Re: How to fix my replication of an existing J25 to localhos

Post by bhaumik » Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:16 am

Hello,

I would suggest to use Akeeba backup to create copy of your site, and install it on local. And then you will need not to worry about any configuration, local site will look exactly like the live site, so I would suggest to give it a try, and its very easy to use as well.

http://extensions.joomla.org/extension/akeeba-backup

Thank you,


Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 2.5”