The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 11:44 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:04 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
Probably someone has already experienced this bug, but as it is quite severe, I thought it is better to talk about that.

Once updated your website from Joomla 3.1 to 3.2, the email subsystem stop working.
Joomla itself, and the most of the extensions (such as contact forms), will no longer be able to send emails
I opened a pull request containing the fix to Joomla mailer library, https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/pull/2462 but in the meantime you can solve the problem simply entering the Joomla Global Configuration and saving (even without changes).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:45 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:48 am
Posts: 1
Thanks for the tip to enter/save Global Config. That fixed the issue for me on a couple of sites.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:13 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 12:05 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
-Fox- wrote:
you can solve the problem simply entering the Joomla Global Configuration and saving (even without changes).


Thanks SO much for this work-around..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:51 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Online

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:47 pm
Posts: 583
I think this bug for email need to be sticked. I found this on my websites after few days ... so lost many emails from clients :(

I dont understand how so important think as email on website is it, just stop working after update :( so many useles ''features'' are there and so imporant think as email just stoped working.
Joomla put energy to wrong place :(

... in this case ... Joomla is not stable and not ready for production sites. I never had so many critical problems with wordpress website. These just works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 1:51 pm 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Online

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm
Posts: 4003
Surprised to hear that an important feature in you business proces is not tested in your acceptance test for a new version. Makes me wonder whether you do any testing at all. It also shows a problem in your monitoring. It shouldn't take days to find out no mails are being received.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:43 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:39 pm
Posts: 1
:) we should take care


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 6:07 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:04 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
@sovainfo, There is no reason to disable by default a feature which has worked for years, and even worse, without inform the user.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 6:25 pm 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Online

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm
Posts: 4003
@-Fox-, absolutely agree with that. And very pleased with your report. Also convinced this was not done intentionally.

The issue here is that you should test when updating. It doesn't matter whether it is a maintenance, minor or major update. Don't apply an update without testing whether the primary business processes on your site work.

The other thing is monitoring. There is something really wrong when it takes you a couple of days to find this out!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 7:26 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Online

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:47 pm
Posts: 583
sovainfo - How I wrote ... if I need to test if emails works after update, it means, that update is not stable - ready for production sites. It is base - core function which I expected it works well in stable release.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 7:37 pm 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Online

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm
Posts: 4003
Disagree on your conclusion. Whenever you apply a new version of software you need to test it. Certainly the business critical processes.

You don't know what you are talking about when relating a bug to the stable qualification of a package. They are complete different things.

It may come as an surprise to you but all software contains bugs!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 7:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
Ideally tests should be run after every update but with the frequency of Joomla updates then it is often impractical for many companies to do that.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:50 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Online

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:47 pm
Posts: 583
This bug is like, when I update my iphone I will test it, if I can make call or write sms :D
This is not bug, this is core function
Now I understand that it can happened to Joomla! :( so in future I will expect all stable release as it is beta release. I can live with it. .... we have two steps authentication or many other garbage so why emails works ... We can enjoy our 4000 extensions :D does not matter if emails works, if canonical urls does not works well ... we have tons of modules which show pictures everywhere on our website :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:59 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:03 pm
Posts: 66
Location: Strandhill, Ireland
Or... you could just help with the beta testing along with the other 100s of other volunteers. If it bothers you this much it might be one way of stopping it happen in the future

:pop


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:08 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:08 pm
Posts: 12
hello,
i applied the fix mentioned above, and the one to captcha too, and i tried to use both sendmail or phpmail but my contact form do not work since the upgrade. it is very annoying, because the end user think the message has been sent .
Any more idea ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:17 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
@eff

The url for the captcha was changed and the update is not the cause of the captcha not showing.

  1. Did the email work prior to updating ?
  2. Did you make a backup before you updated ?

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 11:36 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:08 pm
Posts: 12
Webdongle wrote:
@eff

The url for the captcha was changed and the update is not the cause of the captcha not showing.

  1. Did the email work prior to updating ?
  2. Did you make a backup before you updated ?


yes the email worked on joomla 3.1.5
yes I have a save but as i put all the work in production, there is a lot of changes in one day before we found out that the mail did not work anymore.

i precise that I made a test of the mail function outside joomla and it works

do you suggest I replace the mail.php file of the 3.1.5 instead of the 3.2?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:54 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:08 pm
Posts: 12
Just found out the issue !
i have a multilingual website, and i look up to my previous test that were not in the default language.
so I just tried in other languages and IT WORKS !

so came back to default language,not working. looked if it was a filter language, no
and found that Custom Reply was chosen (help says that it turn off the automatic reply in order to give information to plugins, not sure I understood but problem is solved !
wrong option chosen

thank you anyway !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
eff wrote:
...
and found that Custom Reply was chosen (help says that it turn off the automatic reply in order to give information to plugins, not sure I understood but problem is solved !
wrong option chosen...
Perhaps you had chosen the wrong option previously because the help text ?

If the help text is confusing then perhaps post in viewforum.php?f=728 ? Someone may be able to re word the help ?

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:56 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 11:40 am
Posts: 28
Location: Australia
@-Fox-

Thanks, saving worked a treat!!

_________________
Regards,

Pete.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:30 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:44 am
Posts: 36
Location: Sydney
sovainfo wrote:
Surprised to hear that an important feature in you business proces is not tested in your acceptance test for a new version. Makes me wonder whether you do any testing at all. It also shows a problem in your monitoring. It shouldn't take days to find out no mails are being received.



sovainfo;
I'm a small business owner who amongst other things maintains his own site.
It's the run-up to Christmas, the busy season. I rely on the developers of Joomla to check their work, they are the experts.... supposedly.
I guess the problem is that I trust the developers of Joomla, that they know what they're doing, they'll check their work.

What a silly mistake to make prior to Christmas.

Ho Ho Ho.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:19 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
I did some research and found that there appears to be a new variable in the Joomla 3.2 configuration.php file, $mailonline.

I'm thinking that this variable enables / disables email, and that when you upgraded to Joomla 3.2 this variable isn't added to your configuration.php file. But, once you resave your config, Joomla writes this variable and email starts to work.

Any ideas? I attached a screenshot showing the variables per Joomla version, which shows $mailonline to be new in a fresh install of Joomla 3.2


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:29 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:04 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
bradm wrote:
I did some research and found that there appears to be a new variable in the Joomla 3.2 configuration.php file, $mailonline.

If you had watched the patch proposed, you would have saved your time :)

bradm wrote:
Any ideas?

The patch indicated has been included in Joomla core, therefore this problem no longer exists on Joomla 3.2.1 and newer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 5:24 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
Page says closed ... does that mean it was merged or rejected ? And looking at the code says nothing to the average person what it does.

If it was merged ... was it done before the 3.2.1 release or is it to fig a bug in 3.2.1 ?

Was it produced as part of a report on the Tracker.

In short ... it is no use posting a link in here to a github page.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:28 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:04 pm
Posts: 10
I still got this problem and my Joomla version is 3.2.1.

I have cheked the Custom Reply, tried to change default language, checked the Mailonline, saved global config, and checked this line in mail.php: if (JFactory::getConfig()->get('mailonline', 1))

And still I don't recieve notification emails, when a new user register, but other mails are being sent.

Only diff. I can imagine is that i'm running, jomsocial.

Can anyone please help me?

Regards

Morten


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:36 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
EagleDK wrote:
...

Only diff. I can imagine is that i'm running, jomsocial.
...

You are using the jomsocial registration/login ? It does have a separate one does it ?

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:46 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:04 pm
Posts: 10
Yes, I think so, but I can't change that.

Regards

Morten


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:50 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
Then check the jomsocial registration settings.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:30 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:04 pm
Posts: 10
I have tried that, and I can't find anything that is wrong.

And for info, I think that this issue came, after I upgraded from 3.1.5 to 3.2.1.

Regards

Morten


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:04 pm
Posts: 10
Is there nobody that can give some help?

Regards

Morten


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 4:40 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:49 pm
Posts: 1
I tried all that was suggested, nothing works, yeah when i add a new user, mail is being sent. From the contactform nothing is being send. Doesn't matter if I use SMTP, sendmail or PHP mail. I have to say: I am not a native english speaker, I might have read something wrong.
About that patch, I tried it, did not work. Checking with host: I am the hosting provider and has been set correctly. I also know I am not a PHP wizard, so please, can you give me the work-around, understandable to a PHP newbie? I would appreciate that a lot.

Tx in advance,
Karin


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group