YOOtheme - where are CSS and JS loaded?

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Locked
bjornar2
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:44 am

YOOtheme - where are CSS and JS loaded?

Post by bjornar2 » Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:20 am

Hi,

I'm struggeling to find out which php file that loads the CSS and Javascripts in YOOtheme (I'm using the YOOcloud template).

This is for trying to optimise the loading of these (async, inline, deferring etc.).

If anyone have an idea, I'd appreciate any tips. Thank's!

/B

SharkyKZ
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2906
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 10:35 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Re: YOOtheme - where are CSS and JS loaded?

Post by SharkyKZ » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:03 am

/templates/template/warp/systems/joomla/layouts/head.php

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20652
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ Germany/ S'pore/Bogor/ North America
Contact:

Re: YOOtheme - where are CSS and JS loaded?

Post by leolam » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:04 am

You do not optimze that in the template code. That is a sin (think about upgrades of Warp and the template...Bye bye changes... You use an extension to do that for you such as JCH (find in JED)

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -

bjornar2
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:44 am

Re: YOOtheme - where are CSS and JS loaded?

Post by bjornar2 » Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:31 pm

Thank's for your tips!

JCH seems like a very good idea. Unfortenately it doesn't support my Joomla 3.1.5, so I guess it's a good incentive for upgrading. :) Meanwhile, I don't mind tinkering around in the template files (good learning experience for a novice like myself), so if I were to experiment (say make an inline, deferr or async script), any tips on how to do it? Can't seem to find any reference to the css or js themselves in head.php.

PageSpeed reports this:

Remove render-blocking JavaScript:
http://www.akelius.no/media/jui/js/jquery.min.js
http://www.akelius.no/media/jui/js/jquery-noconflict.js
http://www.akelius.no/media/system/js/mootools-core.js
http://www.akelius.no/media/system/js/core.js
..etc


Optimize CSS Delivery of the following:
http://www.akelius.no/templates/yoo_clo ... tstrap.css
http://www.akelius.no/…dth=65&thumbnail ... =40&mid=93
http://www.akelius.no/templates/yoo_cloud/css/base.css
http://www.akelius.no/templates/yoo_clo ... s/base.css
http://www.akelius.no/templates/yoo_clo ... layout.css
http://www.akelius.no/templates/yoo_clo ... layout.css
..etc

/B

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20652
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ Germany/ S'pore/Bogor/ North America
Contact:

Re: YOOtheme - where are CSS and JS loaded?

Post by leolam » Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:39 pm

You are at risk of being whacked and hacked at any moment. You are running a very outdated version of Joomla and you have a version that is known to be very vulnerable.

This is actually very, very wrong and I would even call this "stupid" if taking the risk to offend so I won't ;-) Any, any question related to this issue is irrelevant as long as you have not upgraded (with a single click of a button!) your Joomla install. Why don't you kep that up-to-date? It is simple a one-click-update!!!! (backup first)

Note since you run J3.1.5 it is wise to backup first (use Akeebabackup), disable the "remember me" plugin and upgrade immediately! After the upgrade (extensions --> Joomla upgrade --> hit upgrade) you enable the remember me plugin again.

"Shaking my head"

Leo )
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -

bjornar2
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:44 am

Re: YOOtheme - where are CSS and JS loaded?

Post by bjornar2 » Fri Apr 24, 2015 8:40 pm

Absolutely no offence taken. I did try to upgrade a while ago, but it broke the site (and a couple of extensions were not compatible).

I'm very curious as to the "one button upgrade" you mention. The admin panel says my Joomla is up to date and "no updates available", so what I tried earlier was a manual upgrade to 3.2.4. I'm using php 5.5.19 and IIS7.5, so bare with me. :-)

/B

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: YOOtheme - where are CSS and JS loaded?

Post by sovainfo » Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:25 pm

Suggest to restore your live site in a test site (new). Upgrade that one to J341 and do a sanity check. If ok you have 3 options
- point live to test
- remove live and move test
- upgrade live
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

bjornar2
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:44 am

Re: YOOtheme - where are CSS and JS loaded?

Post by bjornar2 » Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:10 pm

I took on the challenge, and am happy to say my site (after a few errors - it might have been a cache issue) is now working perfectly on Joomla 3.4.1. :eek: With JCH installed my CSS/JS issues are largely mended (though Pagespeed still complains about JCH creating one CSS render-blocking script).

Immediately after upgrading (and before I installed JCH) I noticed one thing: pages were quicker or more responsive. Did a trace with httpwatch and resoponse time (cached) was down from about 90-100ms to 70-80ms. Total load time, down from about 1200ms to 800ms. When JCS was installed the response time was unaffected, but clicking links and content was noticably more responsive. And: Total load time (again cached) is now typically 300-400ms.

All in all great stuff and a big thank's to the replyees in this thread! :laugh:

/B


Locked

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”