invalid_file_header_multipart trying to backup to update Topic is solved

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
eMT
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

invalid_file_header_multipart trying to backup to update

Post by eMT » Thu May 04, 2023 3:11 pm

Hello! I'm in need of help :eek:

Our site is currently running with Joomla! 3.9.21, which is fairly outdated from what I'm gathering. I am trying to update it. I believe I read I should update to 3.10.-- before jumping to J!4. Regardless of that, I cannot seem to get my backup files extracted onto a localhost for any amount of updating. (Of course, PHP is outdated at 7.4.33 and Akeeba backup component was outdated as well)

The steps I have taken so far:
Downloaded and installed WAMPserver (all C++ are verified in place), performed Akeeba backup (with an old version of Akeeba), downloaded and installed FileZilla (connected to my site, ensured files would be transferred in binary, and moved backup files with the date of backup to local-- there were multiple other files in there as well, but I assumed they would be unnecessary? I transferred the J01-J90 and JPA files from the date I performed the backup), finally I ran Akeeba kickstart with direct write extraction method. That led to error: invalid_file_header_multipart.