Updating to J3.3.3 results in a white screen

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
applestone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Updating to J3.3.3 results in a white screen

Post by applestone » Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:51 am

Morning Guys

I updated my site (www.flamingoresortbodrum.com) a couple of days back but never got round to checking if all OK as something came up. Anyway, when I try to open the front end today I just get a white screen. No error messages. Access to the back end is OK. Until this update the website was performing fine.

Just prior to the update I did take an akeeba backup but before I go down that route, is there anything easy I can try like overwriting the joomla files by downloading the complete J3.3.3 zip? I am concerned really about doing more damage.

Appreciate the help and advice

Regards
Dave

applestone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Updating to J3.3.3 results in a white screen

Post by applestone » Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:47 am

UPDATE: This is to help others in a similar fix.

Firstly I found a J3.3.3 file download on this site which looked to contain all of the files so I thought, overwrite everything just in case. I did that but no luck. I then set debugger to on (I'm not a coder but I thought it might show something) and looked at the log file. At the bottom was a whole host of fatal errors associated with MijoSEF so I disabled that component and bingo, my front end sprang to life.