Error in installing the 3.3.6 Update in Backend

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Thomas Paine
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Error in installing the 3.3.6 Update in Backend

Post by Thomas Paine » Thu Oct 02, 2014 4:51 pm

I am getting an error in the admin part of my site for the latest update, 3.3.6 When I click on the update button to update the Joomla, I get an error invalid Login. Has anyone had this problem, if so, how do you fix this?
Thanks
Rick Brainard
Editor of 18th century History
http://www.history1700s.com

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Error in installing the 3.3.6 Update in Backend

Post by imanickam » Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:05 pm

Next time, before you do the update, suggest reviewing the release notes and following what is suggested/recommended.

The release notes for Joomla! 3.3.6 can be found at http://www.joomla.org/announcements/rel ... eased.html and the following is clearly stated in the notes that the Update component will not work and hence you have use the Extension Manager's installation tab for this.
Because of the issue with the update component, users who are running 3.2.6 or 3.3.5 will be unable to update to the next release using Joomla's update component. These users will be required to update their Joomla! installation via the Extension Manager. Instructions for updating via the Extension Manager can be found on the Joomla! Documentation Wiki. Users who are running Joomla! 3.3.0 through 3.3.4 and 3.2.5 or earlier will be able to update using the update component. The Joomla! Documentation wiki contains full instructions on how to update your site.