white screen and errors after moving site

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Beatsuka
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

white screen and errors after moving site

Post by Beatsuka » Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:40 pm

Hello!

I tried to move my site from a subdomain to a new domain both located on the same hosting server

I copied the whole htdocs folder over but then I only got a completely white screen on both index and admin site.
so then I updated the mysql by following this post:
http://docs.joomla.org/Copying_a_Joomla_website

nothing changed. only white screen

I then edited the $log_path and $tmp_path
Old:
public $log_path = '/var/www/virtual/beatsuka.com/gjofin/htdocs/logs';
public $tmp_path = '/var/www/virtual/beatsuka.com/gjofin/htdocs/tmp';
New:
public $log_path = '/var/www/virtual/gjofin.is/htdocs/logs';
public $tmp_path = '/var/www/virtual/gjofin.is/htdocs/tmp';
also tried:
public $log_path = '/var/www/virtual/gjofin.is/htdocs/logs';
public $tmp_path = '/var/www/virtual/gjofin.is/htdocs/tmp';

still only white page. so I changed the configuration.php file to show error messages but still nothing

I then took a look at the index.php file in notepad.. noticed it was completely blank. in case I backed it up and copy'd the original index.php that had some code in it. but no change.

Then I added this line at the second line of the index.php file and I then finaly got some errors.