Attempting to upgrade from v 3.4.8 to 3.6.0

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
daheys
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Attempting to upgrade from v 3.4.8 to 3.6.0

Post by daheys » Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:11 pm

Hi!

Am a newbie to the forum and am trying to upgrade my Amazon AMI bitnami installation of Joomla 3.4.8 to 3.6.0.

Following the recommendation in the documentation that the in place upgrade doesn't work and the best method is to use the Extension install option with the Joomla 3.6.0 installation package URL.

When I use this method the installation fails with error unable to find "XML setup file".

I therefore try installing by using the file upload and install method and get the same error along woith a message saying "cannot find install package"

Bottom line I cannot get the upgrade to install no matter what method I use, any suggestions?

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Attempting to upgrade from v 3.4.8 to 3.6.0

Post by AMurray » Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:35 pm

??? Where did you read that using the Extension installer was the "best" if the normal update component didn't work.

You can't use the Extension installer for updating from 3.4 to 3.5.x or 3.6

??? What issues are you running into, that won't let you complete the update the correct way (with Joomla Update component).

Here is the update by Joomla component instruction
https://docs.joomla.org/Help36:Components_Joomla_Update (Make sure your "Update Source" is set to Default, as that will detect and find the latest available version).

Manual method below, if you can't do so by the above.