The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:26 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:20 am
Posts: 10
Hi Guys,

I hope someone can help, prior to updating to Joomla 3.2.0 when adding an article the Alias was automatically created from the title when auto-generate-from-title was in the field. It now doesn't create one but keeps auto-generate-from-title as the Alias. I am new to Joomla so I might be doing something wrong or changed something but having this function working again would make life so much easier when I ask people to start publishing their own articles (we use it as an intranet site).

Any help or advice would be greatfully recieved.

many thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi baldy1978,

I just tested the "Auto-generate from title" feature on a fresh install of Joomla 3.2.0 and it works fine. I'd like to try to replicate the problem you're having, and you said it was after an upgrade. What version of Joomla did you upgrade from?

Thanks,
- Brad

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:55 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 9:26 am
Posts: 2
I have exactly the same problem, autogenerate just fills in the text autogenerate, This is a gantry rocketlauncher install.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:35 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi rikatos,

Can you supply us the exact steps on how we can replicate the problem?

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:39 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:25 pm
Posts: 23
Hi,
I was going to say that this happens to me as well, but I think it may be because of this...

Quote:
Error
Save failed with the following error: Another article from this category has the same alias


I may be wrong as I am very much a Joomla newbie, but it seems that when this alert occurs, the alias doesn't get generated correctly.

Just a thought. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:55 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:30 am
Posts: 21
I am having the same issue on 3.2.1 only when using IE9. I create new article, add title, select category, set featured yes, add content to text area, click save get the error message about alias. I can confirm the alias is not used anywhere in the site. Works fine in everything I have tried just not IE9. Changing the alias text seems to work fine.

Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:13 am
Posts: 4
A client of mine has the same issue. It seems IE9 (and only IE9, it was tested by the client to work on IE8, FF, Chrome) takes the placeholder text and uses that as the alias for the new article if an alias is not typed by the user. This (after the first article saved this way) results in the 'another article in this category has the same alias' error.

This bug is still there in Joomla 3.2.2

The error occurs in IE9 on both Windows Server 2008R2 and Windows 7.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:27 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi xmattx,

Thanks for giving us an update. I did some additional testing:

* I tested using Internet Explorer 11
* I upgraded Joomla 3.2.1 to 3.2.2
* I created a new article, set the title to "Test Article 1", and saved. The alias then became "test-article-1".

So, it appears that It does work in Internet Explorer 11, but not IE 9. The quick solution would be to upgrade from IE9.

It appears that someone has submitted a bug ticket for this issue too, so the dev team should be aware of it soon - http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... 12&start=0

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:46 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:11 am
Posts: 10
Same problem here, or well, an editor on my site is generating articles with these "auto-generate-from-title" aliases. I assume she is using IE9 or similar older browser. Seems to be about placeholders, it's addressed in this jquery plugin:
https://github.com/mathiasbynens/jquery-placeholder


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:56 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:50 pm
Posts: 508
Location: San Diego, California, USA
I was having the same issue with one of my clients. I had her pull the site up and make edits in Firefox and everything worked fine.

_________________
Andrew Crossan
CreativeSights
Professional Custom Website Design & Development in San Diego
http://www.creativesights.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 7:05 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:11 am
Posts: 2
I also have the same problem. I started with Joomla 3.1.5. When I upgraded to 3.2.3 (full upgrade from zip file due to proxy problems) the problem occured. On 3.3 the problem still exists. Problem have users that still use IE8 (they are on WinXP). They also see ugly default backend interface.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 2:42 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:38 pm
Posts: 2
I have the same problem. When i add artlicle using one computer it is fine. When using another comp. it doesn t generate alias - only "Auto-generate from title".

Maybe it is not Joomla problem? Flash player, antivirus or something else?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 4:26 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:50 pm
Posts: 508
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Try a different browser.

_________________
Andrew Crossan
CreativeSights
Professional Custom Website Design & Development in San Diego
http://www.creativesights.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 9:30 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:38 pm
Posts: 2
I tried firefox,chrome,opera


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: steffylozy and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group